Minas Tirith & the stops

Posted: February 14, 2011 by Hannibal[SPA] (Rafuron) in News, ZE LOTR Minas Tirith

Hi all (Hannibal[SPA] writting).

Don’t worry about the title, I’m not quitting of editing Minas Tirith or something, but I explain that I’m not working as fast as I think and the map could delay a bit. I did that travel to Dublin for 5 days, then I returned to my home and the university too (today and yesterday I spend like 18 hours working in the computer in two days!).

Anyway, today I start a week of calm, with lots of enthusiams to editing. Also, there is a problem of limits. I just reached another of the source engine limits (MAX_MAP_PLANES), like I did with Paranoid… when it was at 99%! Thats was unexpected. The only disvantage for you is that the map will weight more than the expected (maybe 100 mb), it is not a problem if I do only few versions.

 

 

Comments
  1. Jeong Hoon says:

    noblock plugins can control in map config. (on or off)
    so. i think Anything that does not matter.

  2. Crazyjay says:

    Do whatever you want dude, your map not mine 😉

  3. Kaemon says:

    Hannibal, you didn’t really explain well the diferences between making the map for Block or NoBlock.

    If you may it for Block, since its a 4 stages-map, you will need to use a really high number of entities just to teleport people to the starting positions without blocking them; and that “Starting Hall” of yours would be highly affected.

    Also, Teleports are not about reducing Freedom; are about stopping a couple people for hidding/camping for 5 minutes after humans have lost the round and about encouraging servers with ZombieRespawn, since zombies can catch up with the rest.

    Imo you shouldn’t even ask this kind of thing; you understand better than most of the players the diferences, pros and cons about each system; and you didn’t explain any of them in the post… :-s
    And not only that, but you added “More Freedom” and “Less Freedom” just for adding it, encouraging people to vote for “More Freedom”. The same way you could have added instead “Doesn’t support !Zspawn” and “Supports !Zspawn”.

  4. Slapaf says:

    I think he he got the idea from my forum post 😛

  5. Well, i deleted the poll, Kaemon convinced me xD I put the poll because I’m thinking about the freedom at the lasts maps. Anyway, Kaemon is in the truth, I’ll need to use a lot of entities and I cant waste the limits 🙂

  6. The Sandvich Guardian says:

    Can’t wait, hope it all goes well, I’ll put it on my GMOD server when its up and let you know how it’s received.

  7. Kaemon says:

    Yeah… Now I’m the bad guy, thanks alot. XD