MG 2D (Unnamed) is going good! ZE_LOTR_Minas_Tirith almost done?

Posted: March 31, 2011 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, MG 2D (Unnamed), ZE LOTR Minas Tirith

EDIT: Here you go! A video just so you get an idea about what the engine is about (if “2D” was really hard to understand for you). Please take in mind that its just a test course, not the real deal.
Players in the video are Kaemon, Hannibal and Luffaren.

So the other day I already tested the first alpha version of the 2D MiniGame (wich remains unnamed so far) on an online server with 3 other players.
Some minor problems were spotted, but I have solved all of them already and now I’m trying to improve a little the system in general before the second alpha-test.

Take in mind that it’s still on alpha status, because I’m working on the “engine“. Right now there is only a short course (so people had something to do) that was Copy-Pasted from the one I made when I was first trying to create the “engine“.
So far seems like the game will be playable online without any major problems (but will know more later or in a few days after Alpha Testing it with 10-20 people). However I quickly noticed (even if we were only 4 people playing) that its kinda easy to lose track of your character…

The first Alpha Version only included one model, but you could choose between 2 animations and many colours.
The idea is to have at least 8 models and 10 colours for the first Beta Version… Still, I’m going to need to make multiple visible paths at once or wide roads to avoid some of the chaos of having 40 people jumping arround in the same 2D-Game at once.
But still… No matter what I do it’s gonna be pure madness! ^_^

And now the new you all probably wanted to read about…
Hannibal has been working non-stop on Minas Tirith since he finished his last college projects and the whole physic map is done already, aswell as most of the special items. Hannibal is now adding the triggers and he hopes to finish the map really soon!
He compiled a full version already yesterday and mentioned to me how huge the place is:

I had been running 15 minutes non stop!“, “It took me 12 minutes to fast-check half of the level“.

And yes, the map its huge indeed. Let me remind you that not only its made for 4 different rounds (you advance to Level 2 after humans win Level 1, etc) but most of the time you have a couple of routes (at least) to choose from!
We don’t know when the map is going to be released… But Hannibal is working non-stop to make it as soon as possible!

I may edit today’s rant later and add a video of the Alpha Version of the 2D MG. Not sure.
Basically its just your average 2D-Game, nothing special so far. The fun will come from playing it with more people and the design of the future real courses.

“Fall back! Fall back!”

Comments
  1. Luffaren says:

    Quote from LOTR_helms_deep when you are falling back further into the keep!
    Cant wait for Minas and the 2D map 🙂

  2. Puni says:

    Getting me excited Kaemon you tease!

  3. xD34tHRowZ says:

    Yay! Work non stop forever till your done =)

  4. DeepInferno says:

    Minas Tirith will be amazing! I hope it’s going well Kaemon 🙂 Again I wish you luck ^^

  5. UNREA1 says:

    Yay, Thats the way ya’ do it!

  6. Kaemon says:

    Yeah. Your 4th Geek Point Luffaren!

  7. Long life to Bullsquid! Mah gad , that map will be a revolution at MG. The most funny and innovate and dynamic.

  8. Kaemon says:

    Long life to Bullsquids! And their King, Albino Bullsquid!

  9. Mr.HotDog says:

    awesome keamon 😀 i got some unfinnish mario textures (made myself :p) maybe u can can use them to make a mario 2d ^^

  10. UNREA1 says:

    Hahaha XD That demo video is so epic Kaemon hahaha! xD LMAO Did you take the vegetation off the sides of the screen?

  11. Kaemon says:

    Yeah. No special reason. When I added them on one of the tests, it was just to check if they gave problems (flickering, laggy-jumping, etc).

    So far they seem to be fine; so decorations for the screens are posible.
    BTW, the Black Frame is so all players see the same. Myself I see it only showing in all my screen borders; Hannibal (who recorded the video) uses a much higher resolution and withouth the borders would be abble to see more than I do.
    No big problem with that; but since there is a “Stop Point” that doesn’t allow you to go any futher, its a good way of marking it, since not all players will see the same.

  12. Furthermore, youtube scretched my video, I don’t know why (I saved it with 16:9 scale with MovieMaker). So the width of the black sides is the double in the video.

  13. Luffaren says:

    The music + kaemons laugh made this video about 13 times better than when we recorded it xD