No more Minas Tirith’s news!? MG_2D_Unnamed info comming tomorrow!

Posted: April 9, 2011 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, MG 2D (Unnamed), ZE LOTR Minas Tirith

Hello everybody. I just chatted with Hannibal, wich is once more getting kinda busy with work and real life stuff… I really don’t get why he keeps telling us “Now that I’m done with the work, I have more free time for making Minas Tirith!” if he keeps getting new things and work to do just a day later… XD

But anyway, he has been indeed doing some working on Minas Tirith. He just showed me a screenshot about an especial prop earlier this day… Kinda amazing stuff, really… But he didn’t allow me to post about it… Maybe I will convince him in some days? I will try for sure…
Hannibal is already working on the final stages of Minas Tirith, detailing, animating some models that need new animations, fixing and improving things, chosing the songs and pacing them with the map and what’s going, making the Levels-System… Don’t take me wrong, there is still a lot of work to do until Minas Tirith is done, but he is getting there.
And well… That kinda brings us to the main point: Hannibal will probably stop giving news about Minas Tirith until it’s as good as done and released. He doesn’t want people to see everything it’s to see before the map it’s even released… So I’m afraid you will have to wait…
(He may change his mind, or allow me to post a couple things and screenshots, but don’t count on it)

He mentioned to me that he may give some little more info, like a list with all the songs he is going to use or things like that… But we promise nothing. The guy just wants to work on the map, make it as good as he can, keep as many surprises as he can and release it for everyone to play and enjoy!

I, myself I had been working on my MG 2D. I haven’t done a lot because I was testing a couple of things (with good results by the way), getting many models and textures (even if I end using just a few of them) and I still have to decide about a couple basic choices that I would like to make before doing the courses themselves…
However, I had already received a couple of courses from other mappers, and I have word of a couple more doing more courses… So I hope I can put together the final alpha version (03) or first beta really soon so all servers willing to do so can play and test it, and give me input or spot some problems with the system itself.

I will write more about the 2D MiniGame tomorrow morning (in 10 hours?), will try to include some screenshots and I may ask for your opinion about one or two things…
Also I will comment of what are my plans with the map itself and the” engine-system” (may be a long rant?)

So see you tomorrow if you are interested, and good night everyone!

Comments
  1. Metro says:

    good news hannibal cant wait to play u map ;D

  2. Luffaren says:

    I hope Hanni will release some screens soon, or better yet.. Release the map! 😀
    Not so much to say about your 2d map though, since i tested the newest one. Im really interested to see how the players will react once published, And as usual, keep the good work up! 🙂

  3. Puni says:

    Bet you used none of that stuff from the other night! 😉 XD

  4. Kaemon says:

    Well… My newest personal discovery (I learned something really usefull today, will rant about it tomorrow) was tested on the one I asked to be sended first…
    I’m pretty sure that fella is going to be one of the main start unlocked chars.

    And thanks again for the downloads. XD

  5. Puni says:

    Nice, i look forward to seeing him in the map then 😉

    No problem dude, it was good to be able to help!

  6. UNREA1 says:

    Not only he maps, he also animates. Freakin’ beast. When I grow up I want to be like Hannibal. :3 FUCK MY LIFE! You make me feel like I suck.