Predator Ultimate World Challenge Results

Posted: May 15, 2011 by Kaemon in Special, Uncategorized, ZE Predator Ultimate

<Predator Ultimate World Challenge> it’s over!

Many servers and thousands of players tried their best to achieve the Ultimate Victory over the all-powerful Predator, and many failed… But where some only say darkness and despaired, others succeeded!

1st place – Zm Corporation
2nd place – SteamGamers
3rd place – SyndicateGamers
4th place – Bor3dgaming

Luffaren saw all the demos that were sent in yesterday and decided upon them, as it was stated on the rules, the one he thought it was the “best(more epic, better played overall, against harder odds, that kind of stuff…)
Now… Don’t get mad if you defeated Predator and didn’t won the challenge, that’s how it works: a competition like this is very hard to evaluate, and chosing a winner was not easy task for him.

If you are wondering why the method to choose a winner was “The Best win on the eyes of Luffaren“, it’s because every Zombie Mod server has its own settings… Some have 120 HP humans, some have no-fall damage, some have no-reload, some have increased ammo clips, some have multiple zombies spawning and others only one, some don’t teleport the zombies back, some have zombies with great speed, some zombies with almost no knockback, some don’t allow respawning as a zombie while others force it…
Before the contest began, there were many rules; and some servers wouldn’t participate due to some of them; also, forcing a server with no-reload to reload it’s not as easy, since their zombies are usually tougher and with less knockback and they are used to a different style of game (this is just an example, many others with other settings could be made).

Predator vs Human vs Alien

Predator, Humans and Zombies fought for supremacy... Even an Alien showed at the last posible moment!

And now, some words from Luffaren:

“Zm Corp sent in 4 demos to me, all with valid wins, but their second demo took the price.
It was a really hard decision to pick which one should win/lose. If sG had some more zombies they could have won first place.
SG’s second win was their best one, which is pretty much on par with sG’s current win (SG being slightly better).
Also, I’m planning to give out some achievements for the players and servers. Pretty much like those in Mako Reactor.
It’s a shame that a couple of servers weren’t able to finish the map, I saw some of them trying really hard, like Bor3dgaming (they sended a demo), PlagueFest and Supreme Elite to mention some.

There will be a “winners” plate (winning community designs it).
A “players” plate, with all players on the winning community’s server.
A “survivors” plate with all the survivors on the winning server.
A “those who tried” plate with the communities which I’ve seen tried.
Finally the plate with the “top-3” winners.

I will put the plates around some parts in the map, I was mostly planning for the spawn and end.
I really hope you enjoyed participating in this contest.
This might be the last contest I’ll make, but we can’t know for sure.

See you all in-game!
– Luffaren”

So that’s it. I hope you enjoyed the little competition and how hard Predator Ultimate v2 was.
Hannibal already mentioned that he is not up for making another contest after the Mako Reactor one, and Luffaren seems to feel the same way… It’s a lot of work for little or none reward (for the mapper), and no matter how many rules (lots or none) some one is going to find the contest unfair; making the creators to deal with complains… So I personally just hope had fun fighting Predator and participating in the contest, and accept the results.
Also, as far as I know, no one was disqualified for “Tanking/Cornering/Glitching” the Predator or similar.

Luffaren will probably do only 1 or 2 more Predator versions, since he is already focused on his next map. Those will be just the last fixes and balance changes, and probably will make Ultimate Predator a little easier to kill again, so it’s not that nightmarish anymore…

Any coments or questions for me or Luffaren? Go ahead and don’t be shy of commenting! (Only in english please)

Comments
  1. Kaemon says:

    I don’t really like how I wrote this rant… Not sure of the reason…
    Maybe because I’m talking from something I don’t really have all the info; or maybe because I didn’t like the idea of neither Mako nor Predator contests…

    Or maybe I just didn’t wrote it very well… XD

  2. Anonymous says:

    If I’m not mistaken, there was a map of Hannibal Atix inspired and map Kaemon Titanic inspired. Will it be finished to publish some day among other good maps unfinished?

    Someday I plan to publish Minas Tirith you have done?

  3. sebaKa says:

    yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  4. xD34tHRowZ says:

    So am I seeing that all of the survivors from different server communites will get their name on the map or just ZM Corp?
    I really disagree on just having ZM Corp’s survivors on the map. I still dont quite get it..
    What do you mean by “those who tried”, from the meaning of it then there will be TONS of people on it then?
    I somehow want it like the Mako style of rewarding, how its the templates, names of all of the survivors, the board of which server on which position they came, etc.

  5. Kaemon says:

    Those two maps you talk about are very old and they are quite bad on quality.
    You can download them on Downloads>Lost Projects.
    Everyone is free to use them as they wish.

  6. Kaemon says:

    Don’t worry, whatever Luffaren does, I will personaly take care that yours doesn’t show >:)

  7. xD34tHRowZ says:

    OH! NO YOU WONT >=(

  8. Luffaren says:

    The “those who tried” plate is for community names only, not individual players.
    Basiclly it’s meant for all the communities i saw try but didn’t get on the top-3 list.

  9. Cazador says:

    Winners^^ Awesome map, awesome world challenge. Thank you, Luffaren!!

  10. Patrรฃo says:

    Hey guys… I’m an active reader of this blog, but I rarely leave any comments. Hope to do it more often from now.

    Anyway…

    As one of the representatives of the ZM Corporation server, it’s my duty to say something.

    So… after the announcement of the Predators Ultimate World Challenge, we became very excited, and we felt obliged to try it.
    We dedicated around 2/3 hours a day on the map, and firstly, it was only disappointments. Many people got wondering if it was really possible to kill the Predator, but, after the first win, our players felt no more fear of shooting instead of running only, and that dick head was no longer immortal (xD).

    I remember that 2 of our 4 wins were consecutive winnings, and on the third round we stupidly lost on the Alien attack, where I got bugged inside the wall. ^^

    Sadly, I was spectating the demo that Luffa choosed, but I’m still glad for the guys who did it, as most of them are my loyal players.

    Luffaren, thank you for providing us this great map, and let me inform you that we are anxiously waiting for your next projects.

    Hanniball, Kaemon, thank you for developing the Zombie Escape Mode on css by innovating and providing us such a good maps. I’m really excited with Minas Tirith. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Fรกbio says:

    WINNERS!!!!!
    Awesom map, very hard and challenging.
    I liked a lot to play predator during the challenge and of course to made the BEST WIN ๐Ÿ˜€
    Thanks Luffaren and keep doind great maps ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Coconutz says:

    Itโ€™s a shame that a couple of servers werenโ€™t able to finish the map, I saw some of them trying really hard, like Bor3dgaming (they sended a demo), PlagueFest and Supreme Elite to mention some.

    A shame ? Your elevator makes our server crash sometimes in hyper or ultimate. So we tried to finish it, but conversely to the servers that down the predator, our staff doesn’t want to extend the map ( like 60 minutes ) to try the challenge and finish the ultimate mode. I saw a lot of servers that play the map during 2 hours, we’d hope too. But thanks ’cause we supported you at every release and now we’re a shame ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Coconutz, from the suprรชme-elite team.

  13. Kaemon says:

    I’m pretty sure he means that it’s a pitty that some couldn’t make it, even after they tried hard (whatever the reason).
    You are not a shame, it’s a shame that you couldn’t beat the map (for server settings, bad luck, elevator making you crash or whatever…) because all those who tried hard really deserverd it ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Luffaren says:

    Yeah some servers seems to crash on the laggiest part which is the elevator area, i might change it into something else in the next version but i’m not sure.
    (I’ve only seen/heard pF and Supreme Elite crash on that part)
    I didn’t aim at any of you with “it’s a shame” part. I saw some real spirit while spectating some servers and i thought all of them would win for sure, but due to some issues like crashes, low amount of players at some times, no more map extends etc they didn’t get that big of a chance. That’s why i’m mentioning the servers i saw try in the map. It’s not that i’m ashamed of any of you ๐Ÿ˜›
    (My bad saying it in the first place)

    Anyways as Kaemon said i have 4 maps in progress atm.
    *Finishing predator (1 or 2 versions left)
    *Ze_silenthill (about 2-5%)
    *Stage for Kaemons upcoming 2d map (wont take too long to make)
    *Secret project (my most interesting map imo, will surely be something worth playing)

    Im off!

  15. xD34tHRowZ says:

    So what achievements you gonna add other than the “Best Item-User” which I think goes to ZaN?

  16. Luffaren says:

    I dont want to reveal too much but i could say a couple ones like “Fastest core climber”, “Fastest predator kill” and “Best zombie defenders” etc etc.
    All of them will come up in the next version along with the plates and fixes.

  17. xD34tHRowZ says:

    Hmm.. is there any chances that there will be multiple people awarded? Or only one? I just hope, I get my name on one of those plates >_<

  18. Luffaren says:

    Each achievment will either be a player or a community, depending on what the achievment is. I will look through the demos once again this week to judge which players/servers should get an achievment.

  19. xD34tHRowZ says:

    Only one huh..
    Bleh, I dont think you can see my name when using the Alien Device on the SG’s second win >_< And i got no screenshot to show the points… D=

  20. Luffaren says:

    I can see the players names just by looking at them in the demo! xD
    And yes i saw you using the Alien Device in the arenas middle.

  21. xD34tHRowZ says:

    LOL! All good then >=)

  22. xD34tHRowZ says:

    Wait.. since you saw it, did it hit the Predator O_o
    I’m not sure.. it seems kinda out of range.. ==

  23. Luffaren says:

    It doesn’t matter where you place it, just make sure that he’s running when it explodes ๐Ÿ˜›

  24. xD34tHRowZ says:

    Ah, thanks for clearing it up =P

  25. Nice decision, I lost lot of times with individual names of each winner… of 2 months! ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. I love you luffa, making more maps : D I feel like Rafa Nadal which is being supplanted by Djokovic
    I will keep playin CS for see new maps, and thats for you ; D

  27. Fruit says:

    Lol, hey Luff! It’s fruit. Do you count Bor3dgaming as a win? We won the last second before the last day. Just wondering. Also, i clearly used the alien device in there lol. Ya i had thoughts of climbing the tower in that demo but, i trusted Apostle todo it for me xD. So i went wth, Got to defend instead! ๐Ÿ˜›

  28. Luffaren says:

    Yes bG’s win was valid and a really good one at that. You would have a good chance of winning the contest if you had more zombies at the end. Which sadly was only 1.
    You did great though and i appriceate that you played in the contest. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  29. Luffaren says:

    *Dont blame ZaN for his gauss multi-kill. Blame me for making the gauss rifle instead xD*

  30. Fruit says:

    Ya, 2 of the zombies were kinda “not good” then jack spawned in with zspawn. That made it better. I was expecting more to die if he was a zombie, because he wanted to win it just as much as me xD

  31. Frucos says:

    Luffaren, when are you going to get the version with the winners?

  32. Luffaren says:

    It may take longer than expected, but the main reason for that is that i want to make sure that all fixes/exploits gets fixed before releasing it. So if were lucky this next version will be the last. Otherwise you might get another version to download with really small fixes. I’ll also have to make my plates/achievments etc.

  33. Frosti says:

    Luf, I was in the winning server and I played in all 4 wins but I got a question.
    In the 2nd win there were only a few survivors but in the 3rd win there were alot more. So will the names of the survivors in the 3rd round also appear? Just asking cuz the 2nd round made the win ^^

  34. Luffaren says:

    I will judge by the winning demo only. So if you were there the first win and weren’t the second you wouldn’t get on the list.

  35. xD34tHRowZ says:

    Luff, I dont know if you know this but Predator Ultimate v2 doesnt work in IC.
    As in for players that dont have the map yet who are downloading gets an “error”.
    I dont know if this is the IC server or them. I can however go in perfectly fine but thats maybe coz I already got it from somewhere else..

  36. Kaemon says:

    Thats a server problem. Not an expert on the issue, but I know that’s a problem from them, not the map.
    Probably is something like they don’t have it on the Download-List, don’t allow downloads bigger than X MBs or something like that.
    I have been asked this issue for many servers, each time for a different map. And allways those who had it downloaded (from another server or a site) could join without problems.

  37. xD34tHRowZ says:

    Ah.. thanks for clearing that up =P

  38. Frosti says:

    As I said I were there in all wins. Only in the 2nd win i sacrefised myself so zombies woudnt get killed by alien :S so I’m not a survivor =D but still there are alot of survivors who u coudnt see like Sapo Cocas, Cazador, Ghox1350.
    U can’t see them in the final room but they survived to.