Calm down guys! Low your hype!

Posted: June 5, 2011 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, ZE LOTR Minas Tirith

Hannibal is already making full compiles of Minas Tirith to check all the bugs, glitches and problems, and yesterday he finally sent me the first .BSP so I could check the map myself.

The .BSP (map file) size (without adding any custom material) by it self it’s a little over 40 MBs.
With all the Models, Textures and Sounds added in, it’s size goes up to 204 MBs!
The final size of the map remains unknown, but probably will be smaller than this… How much? We don’t know yet… But Hannibal will reduce it as much as he can (reducing/replacing custom textures) so it doesn’t take too long to download from the servers.
On any case, we will provide links here (and on Gamebanana) for the map when it’s ready, so you can download it before joining your favourite ZE server. Also, Hannibal will try his best to keep the versions at a minimum; so this time he may end needing to use a Test Server before release.

So anyway… Yesterday I finally got to walk arround Minas Tirith myself…
I don’t know exactly how many time we spend running arround… We talked about the map,  we looked for bugs and glitches, I reached tons of places you shouldn’t be able to reach, I gave my opinion about some things or places that I liked and others that I didn’t, we laughed out loud at some weird things happening… And before I realized 4 hours had passed and we still needed to check the very final area.

The map is looking good (even if for a little mistake I was seeing all street-models Pink and Black), but somehow I got a little disappointed…
There has been too much hype about the map, and I let myself get trapped into it. I have seen it on the blog comments, on some servers were people started to chat about it, on the forums of different communities… Everyone seems to be expecting so much; that they may end disappointed.
And don’t get me wrong; it’s a nice map and Hannibal is doing his best and putting a lot of effort into it; but at the end of the day, it’s still just another ZE map on the server rotation; keep that in mind.

Why I tell you all this? So you all low your hype and expectations a little and just enjoy (if possible) the map when it cames out; because some people seem to be waiting for a brand new game or mod of some kind, but it’s still just Zombie Escape for Counter Strike Source.
When discussing about this issue with Hannibal, he mentioned how he stopped watching Movie/Game trailers some time ago, and learned himself to expect always the worse; otherwise getting disappointed becomes kinda easy.

Minas Tirith in the Distance and Horses

Those horses will help you flee form Osgiliath to the "safety" of Minas Tirith. Ending the first Round.

So that’s it… We were only doing a go-through (and we barely made it one time!) so we couldn’t start testing the special items and how they affect the gameplay.
I would like to share some of my experiences and funny moments that occurred while testing, but I will save it for another rant or this text will go forever… Also, freaking Hannibal filmed everything (I think he wants to release some of the scenes at some point), however take in mind that the voices will be in spanish and that the mentally challenged of Hannibal didn’t record his own voice; so I appear to be talking alone when I’m not… ¬¬

World Contest?

By the way,  it’s almost certain that Minas Tirith will have a contest. However this time it won’t be a Server-Based, but Player-Based.
Every time you win a round (as a surviving Human) you level up. So you start on Lv0, and the first time you make it to the end and win, you will become Lv1.
There are special items, and those require a minimum level to get. Right now there are 2 “secret” items that require Lv4 (for the Zombie one) and Lv5 (for the Human one).
The “challenge” will consist just into who is the first player ever to legally get the Lv5 item and send some video and/or screenshots of it. We think that this kind of challenge, apart of being easier to judge; won’t force (that much at least) the servers to keep extending an overplayed map for the shake of the contest.
(The rules or even decision to make the contest may change, we will let you know when it’s definitive)

Minas Tirith - Item Room (Humans)

Those are the current items available for humans... The first one to get the Level 5 one wins! >:)

So that was it… Hannibal just informed me that tonight we will test again (a new fixed version) to spot more basic problems. Also, I will rant again Monday or Tuesday. Dunno if I will have something new to write about; or I will just explain some of the “adventures” we went through on the first test… XD

And for the closing lines, some words from Hannibal, because he really wants to make this point clear:

“At the end, it’s just a map, with rounds, with weapons, etc… To play for 30-60 minutes, like the other maps. Remember it, it’s not a mod, it’s not a new game, it took a long time because other real life things like studies.”

Comments
  1. UNREA1 says:

    FIRST!

  2. Luffaren says:

    I’m still hyped about this map, it’ll be really interesting to play it since it surely seems huge compared to the other LOTR maps. :3

  3. Puni says:

    Awesome screenies!
    Any LOTR map is amazing to me, and this is no different. I could play them all forever.

  4. UNREA1 says:

    Keeping my hype low atm, but I know Hannibal is gonna surprise me anyway.

  5. Crazyjay says:

    Must get level five weapon right now O.O even though i probably wont be the first one to get it 😦 looks good, my hype for this map was that it will be just as good ze_showdown, aka really low xD

  6. Frosti says:

    POWERHORSE!

  7. Cristian says:

    Great work!!! i hope find in a nearly days at the Goonies map (Slot like Chocolat XD)

  8. masak is Soldier says:

    seems a good map, that challenege gunna be hard for those who get fps lag and wat not or just get zombiefied on purpose 😦

  9. Cristian says:

    cmo molaria que hicierais un mapa de la peli de los gunnies

  10. Roflcopter says:

    O god a World Competition. I must admit, im not a fan of those :/

  11. Kaemon says:

    Tip: Don’t get zombified on purpouse. XD

  12. Kaemon says:

    But it’s a Player-Based one; and as soon as the first player ever to get the Lv5 item sends proof, challenge will be off; without having to wait a week or anything.
    Also, servers probably won’t extend the map for a player; so it should be less annoying.

    In fact; I’m personally worried that it’s too easy to get Lv5 (it’s just winning 5 rounds as human) and that we get a winner the very first day :-s

  13. Kaemon says:

    I said to low your hype, so low it, NAO. XD

  14. Kaemon says:

    I’m pretty sure we will never make a map based on the Goonies movie. XD

  15. Crazyjay says:

    depends on how hard the map is and how lucky a player is. if the first round is easy, and a player gets random zombied or is next to a zombie, any chance of winning is over, so say there are 10 great players on a server who are most likely to win, at most 5 will be able to due to zombie spawns. It all depends on the final round that determines if there will be a winner in the first day

  16. sebaKa says:

    oMFG ITS GONNA BE SOOOO AWESOME!!!!

  17. dormantlemon says:

    I think I can win this. about 500on ze in the last 11 months.

    good luck with the map, from just those screenies its sure looking promising. I’m hyped up, not down to how good the map will be, but that I am so eager to see the latest of Hannibal’s incredible wizardry of the hammer editor. seriously though, some of these implementations sound so phenomonally complex to include. I mean it sounds like game_ui’s all over the place for player levels, but I’m sure its not though because they lack suitability for such implementation. but yeah…

  18. xD34tHRowZ says:

    So.. anyone gonna spec before they play on the server with this map? Just to find out the Level 5 item? Though another contest xP

  19. not SOLDIER says:

    Cool. Time to go to the steamgamers forum and start overhyping this.

  20. PnK says:

    I have yet to make one thing clear. When does the map? xDD

  21. Beware the hypeeeeeeeeee it’s just a mappp!!!!

  22. I think nobody will spec xD and zombies will be more agressive than never, If you are a zambie, you wont level up.

  23. Sooner than you think, in other words, neverrrrrrrr!!!! (joke) Map its playable 100% at the moment, I say 100% because it is, just wanna fix the bugs I found with kaemon, and maybe, adjust some shit, but we went from first round to ending of 4th round without noclip, and thats progress.

  24. not SOLDIER says:

    So that means sometime this month?

  25. xD34tHRowZ says:

    So what will happens when the first person obtained the Level 5 Item?

  26. Frosti says:

    Don’t worry guys. I bet I will be the first to lvl 5 since I play on a server with n00b zombies ;P

    It counts just like predator hahaha

  27. Riperzz says:

    OMG Hanni when do you plan to release this map? Weekend? Coz i cant play until then D:

  28. Maese Danielot says:

    Will be saved from 2012 hecatomb

  29. not SOLDIER says:

    Good, in that way you can’t post Minas Tirith on the map requests section 15 seconds after its release like you promised.

  30. Kaemon says:

    He will get rewarded in the next version of the map… Just wait 🙂

  31. Crazyjay says:

    What happens if multiple people reach lvl 5 at the same time, since usually there are groups of people left after a ze round

  32. Kaemon says:

    There is only a single item of Lv5 available, so the first one to get it will win.
    The winner will really be “The first one to get the Lv5 item”. So if you get Lv5, and next round you are a starting zombie (or it was the last round) you don’t win.

    Anyway; we may still need to talk the details; worry not. When it’s completly decided and confirmed we will post about it in a new rant 🙂

  33. Riperzz says:

    I will keep my promise.

  34. not SOLDIER says:

    We’ll see.

  35. Crazyjay says:

    That sucks, that means the person with the highest ping out of the people who make it will win. That’s dissappointing

  36. Kaemon says:

    Not really (asumming you meant “The lowest ping”).
    You can appear closer or more far away from the “Shop” just by getting a better spawn spot.

    And anyway… Yeah… Many people can win the round at the same time… And all those people have won 4 rounds prior? Don’t think so.

    It’s like being the winner in Moria 5 times; not humans winning 5 times; but YOU (or other player) winning 1 time, then a second one, then a third, then a forth and then, when he wins the fitfh time; on the next round (if the map keeps going) he can get the thing. XD

    Also; no matter if it’s “fair” or not. The reward will just be for “The First Using This Item Ever” (kinda like the dicoverer)

  37. xD34tHRowZ says:

    … I havent thought of my ping.. looks like my chances on getting it are = 10%

  38. Frosti says:

    What if me and another are lvl5 and see the item but I walk faster then him and he throws his stupid deagle to take it will he win then? By the player I mean Fagador

  39. Deathrowz says:

    Yes. He will.

  40. Cazador says:

    UMADBRO???