Tomorrow, test

Posted: June 23, 2011 by Hannibal[SPA] (Rafuron) in Uncategorized

Firstly, thanks for your pattience; this map was the real challenge. After months of problems, limits, custom files, … here is: the first testable version of Minas Tirith, no crash, no purple textures, … I finally reach the number of 1047, 1148, 1305, 1408, 1407 entities at the warmup round and the 4 different stages (remember that the engine crashes when there are 1450 entities + >50 players). That was a real hardwork; I expect you like it, the map may not be liked as other maps, but at least, I feel proud of building such a huge map, that looks like a zombie lotr mod.

The testing? I would like to do it tomorrow day 23, but it may change to day 24. But it will be one of these days FOR SURE, because I have a file called ze_LOTR_Minas_Tirith_b2.bsp totally working, without bugs, and with all the stuff. We will find lots of bugs (probably), please, help me with bug finding : ).

Other things I must say, these are the lasts changes:

  • The end of round 4 will have only one way instead 3. Reason: confusion. But the defending place will depend in case of defending the closed gate that will open to the top.
  • Added the siege item for zombie at extreme mode. It summons a fire siege rock. You will like it.
  • Longer run at Osgiliath fields. Includes the only massive teleport of the stages.
  • Deleted the torch item for humans. It could be readded at next version.

And this is all. I think that the map is really hard (like the other maps πŸ™‚ ); but I think that is a good point. The defense times are long, I wanna see you defending like a bitches! Human contact will be continuos, like in classic maps.

See you tomorrow 23 or 24 πŸ™‚

Edit:

TEST DATE AND HOUR: 24 of June, time 15:30 at Spain.

EDIT 2: TEST DATE AND HOUR: 24 June, time 17:00 at Spain

This is the program I wrote in 1 hour, it generates the code of the entity_makers using only the point_template used at each entity_makers. The generated code must be added to the connections {} of a logic_relay, trigger, etc…

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2134370/template%20optimizer.exe

Comments
  1. Luffaren says:

    Freaking awesome! I’ll be there for sure πŸ˜€

  2. Puni says:

    Is this a public test your doing?
    Im sure GE would happily upload it for testing immediately

    The masterpeice is finally coming into place!

  3. dormantlemon says:

    ahh I would love to help you guys. but last exam today so ill be busy.

  4. Deathrowz says:

    Zzzz.. I just hope I will join the test.. but.. you live in Spain and I live in Australia D=
    Good job to the both of yous =)
    Surely everyone will jizz there pants while playing this epic map xD

  5. Paaf_^ says:

    Where do you plan to test it ? I mean what server ? I don’t want to miss that !

  6. DeepInferno says:

    I’ll definitely be there. Good luck! πŸ˜€

  7. Frosti says:

    πŸ˜€ u know the time in australia got 12 hours difference πŸ˜› so lets say if its 11 am here its 11 pm there hahaha..
    I’ve never seen u btw cuz ur australian well maybe one time.

  8. mADASS says:

    Yay. I’ve been hyped for this map for months. Spamming the F5 button every hour and guess what… I’m out of town and will be back at sunday. I so did not want to miss the first try:(

  9. not SOLDIER says:

    I’ve waited ever since this map was announced. What is the testing server, Hannibal? I can’t miss this.

  10. Riperzz says:

    Private server.

  11. where? when? who? what? lets do this!

  12. PatrΓ£o says:

    Hi Hannibal! I’m glad that we’ll be able to play this obviously AWESOME map soon! Congratulations! ^^
    Are you still going to need my server for that purpose? It is at your disposal, just let me know through steam if you intend to use it.

    PatrΓ£o

  13. not SOLDIER says:

    Riperzz, give me the password or I’ll become depressed.

  14. AtOmIc says:

    I’ll be there! If I’m allowed? πŸ˜€

  15. sebaKa says:

    how can we join the test?

  16. Mr.HotDog says:

    I’ll be there for sure, just give us the time and please tomorow i can’t play tonight πŸ™‚

  17. Riperzz says:

    Yea tomorrow would be good, I cant play tonight either.

  18. Riperzz says:

    Hannibal you could optimize the size today and test tomorrow.

  19. Riperzz says:

    If you cant test it today, damnit add edit

  20. FiXi says:

    So are you inviting players to the server or what?
    I would like to join the test if its possible

    What happened Riperzz? Do you have power cut?

  21. I must test now, as I said, 23 or 24. The day will be 24, I added some info to the post.

  22. Roflcopter says:

    Will you allow people who are not on your friends list to test πŸ™‚ – if not, ill wait until the full version πŸ™‚

  23. NiDoXiD says:

    This is gonna be awesome πŸ˜‰

  24. not SOLDIER says:

    I hope he does! Lots of people have waited for this opportunity.

  25. Riperzz says:

    Thanks hannibal, I’ll make it.

  26. Anonymous says:

    I’d say: AWESOME

    If my PC didn’t blow up.

  27. UNREA1 says:

    BTW, that comment is me. My PC blown up.

  28. Kaemon says:

    Nice to see the map is getting closer.
    Personally I’m kinda as surprised as you with this annoucement and I know the same you do (I haven’t been abble to talk with Hannibal those last days).

    I don’t know if it will be a Hamachi-Server test with some known people too look for glitchs, problems and bugs going on or if he is going to use some Online-Server.
    Anyway, the crash for too many entities should be gone now that he reduced the entities with this new technique (was still surprised that he managed to make a program to do it for him; I was hoping for he to spend countless hours doing it manually! XD) so it’s mostly check that there are not big bugs going on and the map is playable; since a “Fail-Version” of a 100-200 MBs map is something that most servers (and players downloading it) don’t realy enjoy. XD

  29. Rapsus says:

    OMG , THIS MAP IS LEGEND.

    [img]http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/559786445999722081/735FA9FC2088F5412B8DC3FCBBCE7251705E8BBD/[/img]

  30. Anonymous says:

    Epic.

  31. Test at 17:00 O’clock, I need to eat now.

  32. not SOLDIER says:

    What server, though?

  33. Kaemon says:

    You dirty liar… Also, do you take 2 hours to eat? XD

  34. UNREA1 says:

    AJR)UY/Q$##QHIWUIRW/(!”=$(&IAOT)T!&””#T/%”)#

    I wish I could be there so badly :-[

  35. Puni says:

    I feel for you, you must be distraught 😦

  36. FreeZe says:

    yo am i on guest list?
    πŸ™‚
    as for your program:
    if(hannibals map > my maps){
    FreeZe.createNewMap(while(freeze.map > hannibal.map);
    }

  37. mastaprzemo says:

    Hello πŸ™‚

    I was wondering if there is a chance to take a part in testing the map ? πŸ˜€

  38. DeepInferno says:

    I know you must get this question ALOT but who is actually testing the map? Pople off your friends list or just on a public server?

  39. Kaemon says:

    To be honest; I usually talk with him 5-10 hours a day, 4-7 days a week, and I don’t know myself what he is planing. XD

  40. not SOLDIER says:

    He still isn’t online, so maybe he’s lied again.

  41. mastaprzemo says:

    hm meaby atm hes adding some super realistic giant Monster that will 1shot us on minas tirith map :>

  42. not SOLDIER says:

    That can’t be, Hannibal said there were no bosses.

  43. mastaprzemo says:

    1h55min left :D:D:D:D omg wheres my patience o0

  44. Neox says:

    Mhh… 17:14?

  45. sebaKa says:

    trollololololool

  46. Reaper says:

    I wish i could test with u guys…
    I wonder if asdf will test it too.

  47. Eddie says:

    Nice map, , Morell gave me the link to your download and I tested, nice soundtrack, good map desing, excelent gameplay πŸ˜€
    I could not get Gandalf and Unknown Power :S. I will try to pick these two powerups this afternoon.