Minas Tirith Beta Results & Trolling!

Posted: June 25, 2011 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, ZE LOTR Minas Tirith

Hello there!
As most of you know we beta-tested Minas Tirith online on the GE-Clan server yesterday. Many of you were there and helped us seeing how the map performed online and what happened when you added many zombies to the mix, running arround trying to infest people.

So far the testing went pretty good. There were no server-crashes due to “Too Many Entities” and most things seemed to work fine.
However, there are many things that still need to get fixed. Some textures were missing, and some places or models could get some work; but all that was obvious; what Hannibal really wanted to see was how the map played; like checking if all the triggers that allow you to continue were working, and some weren’t: like the Door at the end of Stage1 or the soldiers after the long corridor on Stage2.

The test also served to get feedback on some positions, holds, runs, FPS, performance, items (not so much since the fact that the Level Up was bugged to only-1-player we didn’t saw many special items arround) and much more; and now Hannibal will fix the next version (I personally would go for another Beta before the real release; but Hannibal seemed to want to release a V1 after he fixes everything we saw).
Anyway, the map is almost here and thanks to everyone that joined the Beta testing to check what was wrong with the map before release.

Until know, Hannibal always released directly the server version, with Minas Tirith this was different mainly because its huge size; not wanting to force servers and players to download a broken version that needed a fast fix due to some small thing that wasn’t possible to find while testing on Lan (like the train on Mako Reactor lagging the server to the crashing point on the first version).

LOTR Troll

Trolls love trolling!

Which brings me to my next and last point…
Seems like someone wants to troll Hannibal, releasing the map before it’s completely done. Someone tried to post links to the map here in the blog, and we just saw that someone decided to post yesterday’s beta in Gamebanana (where has been Withheld already) while using a fake “Rafuron.” account, while Hannibal‘s one is “Rafuron” (without the dot).
I noticed it got some downloads. If you rule a server, I wouldn’t suggest to upload it. Not only it’s the version kinda broken and barely playable (unplayable at some points without admins), but you will make your players to download a huge file for nothing; since a newer and fixed version will be out really soon (days I guess) may it be Beta3 or Version1.

(Also Hannibal doesn’t want this broken version to be played on servers as if it was the real deal, so even if your players don’t mind the download for nothing, you could do it out of respect for the mapper.)

So point is, I wouldn’t suggest you make your players waste their time downloading a 200 MBs file for playing a broken version of a map which playable version will be released really soon.

Anyway, if people download and play it… Pitty for them, because it’s not really playable/enjoyable. At any point, everyone knows that Hannibal is the author and that he is keep working on the map. XD

Comments
  1. Metro says:

    I am ready for test on beta3 anyway its pretty good map πŸ˜‰

  2. DeepInferno says:

    Nice post Kaemon! I would really like to play a “non broken” version of this map.

  3. Kaemon says:

    You only liked the post because of the image. XD

  4. Tartichevre says:

    I can not wait to see the final rendering of the map.
    I would love to test with you but hey never mind.

    Anyway it’s a great job, I hope the final result will be great.

    Sorry for my English, I had low and I pass by a translator ^ ^.

  5. Kaemon says:

    No problem, we understood everything you wrote, and your comment is apreaciated πŸ˜›

  6. dormantlemon says:

    ^that

  7. brebis says:

    it’s me on WoW ! =)

  8. DeepInferno says:

    Haha πŸ˜› The image was pretty cool and improved the post but I would still like it, all of the things in there you said in there I agree with especially releasing another beta. And I do REALLY like the image of the troll πŸ˜›

  9. Puni says:

    GG everyone.

    I saw a server running it after we shut the server down. I also recognised two people on that server who were on our test server (called something like caradoz and lionsnell) however I dont know who they were. They was running it on a private Portuguese server around midnight, so maybe it was them, unless they was given permission?

    I look forward to the next version! b3/v1!

  10. Puni says:

    PS: Im having another go at my “open environment ZE”. I am not going to quit, or start any other projects till a create a playable piece. Otherwise I will suicide.

    Anyway, I have only just started, so there is a lot to do. Im currently making the terrain, this piece in the SS is 12288×12288 ;o. Im trying to make it eerie and a tense atmosphere with the fog. Hopefully it will have good enough FPS for HDR because that makes it even more eerie.

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/14/zepandemic.jpg/

  11. Kaemon says:

    Worry not. It’s not like we really care.
    If Hannibal did the Beta was to save players to Download/Play a unplayable map (specially when it’s as big as this one), not because he doesn’t want his map to be published. XD

    Anyway; I know that most of the servers I usually play won’t upload the current broken beta. And soon enough the real version will be here to replace the beta one if someone is stupid enough to upload it. XD

  12. Roflcopter says:

    You mis-spelt trolling in the title 😦 (Grammer Nazi FTW D: ) i cant wait for the fixed version πŸ˜€

  13. Kaemon says:

    In case you couldn’t wait for the fixed version of the post’s title, here you have it!
    If you were talking about the map… Just wait a little longer πŸ˜›

  14. dormantlemon says:

    open world is difficult from what I’ve been trying. but what you seem to be doing is very different from me. I just feel that players will get lost too easily until they are very familiar with a map

  15. UNREA1 says:

    I noticed there was a guy yesterday uploading all Hannibals most known maps to GameBanana, while so me and some friends were Flagging the submission.

    French keed. Stoopid.

    Whoever is posting his map should get a special Output in the map like so:

    OnMapSpawn; point_servercommand; Command; sm_ban [STEAM:ID HERE]
    OnMapSpawn; point_servercommand; Command; ma_ban [STEAM:ID HERE]

    Trolls are very trollable.

  16. UNREA1 says:

    @Puni
    “called something like caradoz and lionsnell”

    I’m pretty sure it was Cazador, and I bet the server was ZM Corp. Am I right? He surely didn’t mean to do it, I think Kaemon knows him, hes also spanish. I have Cazador on my friends list.

  17. Thanks for flag these maps; and, about this command, I knew it, but well, I would use the ma_kick (because it bans from entire server). Well, if I have proofs, I will add this, for sure.

  18. Cazador says:

    Think whatever u want, but I didn’t upload the map to Gamebanana, same for liongreen. I play a lot in ZombieMod Corporation (portuguese server that won the Predator World Challenge, btw) and some hours after the official test, when I was already there, they changed to Minas Tirith, so I stayed there and invited some Steam friends to get to know the map better since I had missed most stages in the official test.

  19. Cazador says:

    Hi Unreal. I didnt upload anything, just played Minas in ZM Corp xD

  20. sebaKa says:

    keep up the good work. when the map is released let Hannibal write something for once.

  21. UNREA1 says:

    I know you didnt, you wouldn’t do such thing! I just said it was probably you playing. I guess I was right! :d

  22. Puni says:

    No problem man, I was just searching game monitor to see if anyone else had started playing it yet, I wasnt looking down on you or anything just saying what I saw.

    I just know that hannibal didnt want people to play it much incase they get bored to quickly (which obviously cant happen anyway as its so awesome)

    I for one, have been playing it in single player for ages!

  23. Puni says:

    Yes I think your probs right there, it was ZM Corp IIRC. No problem of course, its not like he was causing trouble or anything!

  24. Bukkake says:

    It was pw protected in zm corp and only a few friends got invited…but idk who trolled on gamebana

  25. Bukkake says:

    Gamebanana* cuz thats low
    Ps. Im on my phone. Stupid tiny keysxD and it made me post my incomplete sentence

  26. Mr.HotDog says:

    Testing was awesome but that someones Copys Hannibals map that sucks i hope someone find out his steam id and fast.

  27. Jordi Morell says:

    ma_ban or ma_kick = mani admin – this command is obsolete, no one uses mani.

    sm_ban or sm_kick = sourcemod

  28. Kaemon says:

    Nah, so far they aren’t copying Hannibal’s map; just posting the Beta.
    And honestly we don’t care that much anyway; but we found it necesary to flag it on Gamebanana and explain the reasons, because we really don’t want players to have to face a download this big when joining their favourite servers for nothing.

  29. Kaemon says:

    Ideed. Not only is Mani Admin a little obsolete nowadys, but even if it wasn’t, it would only work in the servers using the mod.
    However, no one uses it anymore? I liked how it gave you the ability to make console messages with the name of the players for special events.

    Anyway, Hannibal is more worried about fixing the map than banning anyone. XD

  30. UNREA1 says:

    Ha, I did that all the time! xD

    ma_cexec ❀

  31. UNREA1 says:

    I just sent a PM to GameBanana admin informing him about this. Lets see if we can get his ass IP banned from GameBanana. 😑

  32. Puni says:

    Indeed that can be a problem. But using paint alpha on texture to create slight dirt paths, or using props in an orderly way, or even events that show a direction ( like planes flying overhead ) are all ways you can give direction hints and keep a map looking realistic.

    You could also make a radar like on paranoid with arrows, or some more basic visual hints like env_lightglow (whatever its called, the one hannibal used in helms deep).

    Im probably going to make some visual borders on mine as well, displacment rocks and such, which will be a good indicator if you are going the wrong way.

    My only concern is fps, my only real weakness on hammer is hint/skip. Im fine with all other methods of optimization.

  33. Puni says:

    Indeed, it is all about sourcemod nowadays!

  34. UNREA1 says:

    I got the SteamID of the guy who uploaded the map, I’ll PM it to Hannibal and Kaemon on GameBanana just in case you are interested. Can’t go on Steam right now.

  35. Cazador says:

    Check Rafuron profile in Gamebanana. Trololol It was limon of Minas Tiret?? WTF!

  36. UNREA1 says:

    The guy is Russian, he can barely write english. He says he only uploaded to a friend because “Hannibal was too busy”. Weird excuse, specially because we had to download from an external link. Anyways, in soviet russia excuse you.

  37. Kaemon says:

    Ey guys. Stop worring about it, we don’t.
    I deleted some comments with links or names; thanks for trying to help, but drop it, it’s not worth it.

    Next version (Beta 3) will be here soon enough, and the map already got many fixes, improved barricades and the size went down from 210 to 150 MBs.

    About Limon, I talked to him a couple of times on Steam (added him shortly after Minas Tiret was released); he has indeed some problems writting english, but I highly doubt he was involved in any way for several reasons.

    Just stop worrying about it. The map is meant to be played; it’s just a little of a pity that some people have to suffer the wrong version (specially, once more, because of the big downloading time) when the real deal will be here briefly.
    It’s not a real problem that he posted the Beta version, and we don’t want this blog to become some kind of flamefest, even if we knew who to flame πŸ˜›

  38. Puni says:

    Ah so it WILL be b3 and not version 1? πŸ™‚

  39. Deathrowz says:

    I got one more week till holidays =)
    I hope it is released then.

  40. Random player says:

    Hey, why are you following those playing on the b2 map?

    I myself downloaded the banaa uploaded version (knowing its the b2) just because I wasn’t able to be online at that time, so I open the map in private for myself and to see a little the map.

    You want to hunt the people doing that Rafuron? Just by downloading banana’s site map (the link of the download is still there…) will make people get steamID banned by map commands? it’s ridiculous.

    A lot of the times there was some server with password and 1 player online on b2 it was me or known people just seeing the nice map.

  41. Kaemon says:

    No one is hunting anyone.
    And if it was the case, it would be the people posting on Gamebanana the map under a fake ID faking to be the real author and trying to troll the players making them download a non working and varely playable version of the map; not the players that wanted to check the map. XD

  42. Kaemon says:

    We just tested Beta 3 (Final result 6-40 Rounds) and has improved a lot already.
    Will rant about it later today, it’s 06:10 in Spain so I think I deserve some sleep time. XD

    So far, it seems way superior to Beta 2; being really playable.
    Barricades are now fun (but a little weird to get used to) and work fine; and we could test all special items this time (and some are quite overpowered).

    Also, looks like final relaseable version could be 50 MBs lighter than the first betas; but not sure yet.

  43. Puni says:

    Its looking good!! πŸ™‚

    Kaemon, me and Joe, were having a discussion early about these “shops”. He came up with the idea of a currency for a shop. Now, I think you know how env_global works right? Would an env_global be able to keep the information of currency for each person?

  44. Kaemon says:

    I’m not sure what you are talking about there… Env_Global should only be used to keep info that you want to keep saved on the map until the server resets, even between map changes.
    And no, it’s not posible to track people’s currency with it, and even if it was, it’s not desired to keep their currency between map changes.

    Also, if you don’t mean to save the currency between map changes; only to keep the currency, doesn’t the map do that already? πŸ˜›

  45. Puni says:

    Well ye, he was trying to see how far a currency could go in CSS.

    As far as I know, the env_global would not be able to detect the different between players between map changes. Because his idea would be to give each person a target name so they each have there own “wallet”. But the flaw with that would be that targetnames would get reset on map change.
    So I guess its only possible to store currency until the map changes. (without sm plugins).

    Yes I did mean map changes πŸ˜› as targetnames stay between rounds πŸ™‚

    ====

    Do you have any example scripts of how env_global works? I have looked at the wiki page but it doesnt tell much about in detail. I quite like the idea of on-going challenges, as long as they dont have to big an impact!

  46. Anonymous says:

    Hey I see people playing _b3 on a server with 3 ppl. Did you release it and its another leak or what happened? :S

  47. Anonymous says:

    Its on a4p-gaming (193.192.59.50:27027)

  48. lulz says:

    level 5 human item is awesome. I thought u didnt want ppl to see it before the release, but its obtainable on b2 lol (completing the map, after beaing the 1 on xtreme again)

  49. lulz says:

    lol it’s meant that u can spam left click like that? omg XD

  50. lulz says:

    also level 4 terros is awesome too XD, it was a surprise that you could get em on b2.

    Won’t spoil πŸ˜›

  51. AtOmIc says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed it! Especially the horses during the ride to Minas Tirith, with the Nazguls chasing you down!

    The items were also amazing (I only got the level 1 item! D:) Overall awesome job, I cant wait for the release!

  52. Random dude says:

    Whoah, stage 4 is… epicly dark or its me? I don’t see shit haha

  53. Anonymous says:

    its hannibals friend

  54. Deathrowz says:

    I know this got nothing to do with this post but CHANGE THE POLL ALREADY!! D=<

  55. Molli says:

    Give me my precious..My preeeecious!! MUST HAVE!! MY PRECIOUS!

  56. Anonymous says:

    “Level 4 zombie item” is way too slow (moving and left click) I think. And “level 5 human item” is way too fast (moving and left click) imho. Too much imbalanced once both team have the items, cts will pwn every round most probably.

    Personally I’d delete level 5 human or reduce it drastically. It completely unbalances the map.

  57. Anonymous says:

    Wtf, you have repeated static minas tiriths on the map? whats their use? I don’t remember seeing any static one in the story..

  58. Anonymous says:

    On that image there are 2 static minas tirith, much more simples than the real one..

  59. Puni says:

    your in the skybox?

  60. Kaemon says:

    It’s because the size of the Hammer Grid is too small, so Ossgiliath wasn’t posible to place with the same Skybox Minas Tirith uses (unless you wanted both cities to be touching).

  61. Anonymous says:

    But why there’s another minas tirith looking to the other side? I understand one to be seen by far from the osgiliath skybox, but another one looking to the other side? o.O

  62. Floofyfoo says:

    Do you guys play on the Omega server, if so, what names do you guys go by? o.o

  63. When using gandalf light, some parts of map becomes yellow http://i.imgur.com/ERRXv.jpg

  64. LeGrem says:

    because you see again the skybox when you are in the skybox …

  65. Deathrowz says:

    LOL! Omega.. that server has wont even add Minas probably. THEY DONT EVEN HAVE MAKO!

  66. Puni says:

    I play GE Server.

  67. Lol! thats weird. Well, these engine fails are hard to fix. Thx for the info, but I will let it like a bug.