Paranoid _ _ _ _ _ hot update!

Posted: May 24, 2012 by Hannibal[SPA] (Rafuron) in ZE Paranoid

Hi all : )

I have to say that Paranoid is closer than never, this version took me much more time than expected since is a total rework (it deserves it). When I opened the Parnaoid source file in the hammer editor, I couldn’t believe such a bad mapping, so I wanted to rework it all. I had, aswell, crash problems and I put many many things in the new version (I spent a lot of time with this version).

I still dont have a name, so, help me!ย  what do you think about these?

Suggestions accepted ๐Ÿ™‚

I have to admit that I was pretty busy 10 days ago with some works or business, so I didn’t work a lot. But now, I’m on full performance again. I already did the difficult/hard/annoying part, and I tested all the modes already (anyway I need a pretty long test for this, I will ask many ppl as possible).

The things to-do in my list are:

– Put the items at 2ยบ labyrinth (just put)
– Put the triggers at 1ยบ and 2ยบย ย  (just put)
– Put the special special weapons as secrets
– Put the monsters (just put)
– Put the music
– Some extra things I will not put there (easy cake)

I would like to show you some pics that could be interesting. You must know that some things have changed consideraably, these are the next:

 

As you see, I have skill with Paint. The pictures shows the main differences and important gameplay changes:

  • The mode selection: 16 modes, just 1 to be selected. Every second, a mode is discarded (breaking the block), and the last one will be selected. The winners can discard the modes they hate with shooting the hated modes, you can do this while there more than 8 modes to be selected. The super winner (only one survivor), can discard at any time.
  • There are 4 different zone types: the egypt , Paranoid Ultimate, metal, and wooden zone.ย  They are very different and the gameplay will be pretty different at each one if Volcano or Vertigo mode is selected, or if you are going at the upper zone.
  • First labyrinth has two levels: each zone has two paths, the upper and the lower one. The upper is more secure but no weapons/items are spawned there. If you go through the upper level, you can use the doors like bridges.
  • Doors go down and up: instead the instant appear/dissapear, now, doors can be used to go to the upper level, and will not stuck you anymore (anyway the stuck thing is funny).
  • Core entrance hold spot: defend time has been increased; the visibility has been increased since now, there are no walls but a very deep precipice. To defend you may use a trap (that works against humans aswell, for fun).ย  There are 4 trap types: wind push, rotating platform, freezing cube and inclination platform and their effect are short but the cooldown is short aswell.

Well, thats all, sorry for my English; I wrote this pretty fast. I hope you liked. Feel free to opine about this, specially about the paint pictures. Remember that it is not finished yet, and there is no VRAD compile (sucky light in the pics).

I hope to finish the map soon, I need all you to test. Sure you will have fun!

PD: Tony recently talked to me about a crashin problem in Mount Doom. It uses the classname. A fast fix will be published.

PD 2: Last Man Standing still in my mind and heart : )

Comments
  1. TonyMontana says:

    This looks absolutely crazy, can’t wait to test it!

  2. BotoX says:

    Hannibal, you are a fucking god!
    Can’t wait to play this ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. JorisCeoen says:

    I can’t wait to see it getting compiled with VVIS and also VRAD (you forgot to mention VRAD wasn’t used too ^^)

    But it might take about a month and a half now that I’ll be able to play again, I have my final examinations, and my incoming bulletin will have the worst scores ever (I never had worse scores in the entire past 4 years and obviously on the end I’ve been slacking a bit too much and now I’m going to have to do a little more effort not to screw it up at then end o__o) Anyways good work Hannibal! Looks refreshiong and inventive.

    So hopefully until soon! And have fun everyone ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. chet says:

    Hannibal you just make my day expect I have final exams tomorrow (physics and religion)
    I just can’t wait for it it just look epic
    One more thing you maybe not know SG have mapping contest and last day to enter is 27 this month I think but I don’t when it finish (maybe this 27?) Winner get 150$ I am sure it will help you

  5. Metro says:

    call it ze_Paranoid_Extreme_v11 Since last one was Ultimate

  6. Is SG Steamgamers? Because the last time I tried they cancelled the contest. And this is an update, I wouldn’t be fair. Thanks for the info. But I can’t finish this in 2 days : (

  7. For the students: Paranoid will take at least 1 more week until final version at servers, study bitches!

  8. Neox says:

    Is there no normal mode? O_o

  9. chet says:

    Do me favour hannibal don’t test it before 2 weeks or just next week after monday ๐Ÿ˜€ (finish next week after monday)

  10. *Elite says:

    I voted on Ze_Paranoid_Revolutions_V11 because it has some generation history ๐Ÿ˜›

    I like the suggestion from Metro Ze_Paranoid_Extreme_V11.

  11. Wind Nexus says:

    Holy shit This looks like a whole new map!

  12. Anonymous says:

    Very good job hannibal, the map will be very funny. I suggest you, name it Paranoid_Infinity_v11.

  13. BotoX says:

    HANNIBAL GOT SOME CRAZY SHIT FOR YOU
    http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=99819

  14. Infinity, I thought about it (Inifity and Unlimited).
    Thanks for the votations : )

    Neox, the normal modes are:
    – Random
    – Vertigo (only first labyrinth changes)
    – 2 spawns
    – Voluntary
    – Massacre
    – Zombie boss (quite normal aswell)
    – Trigger madness

    Volcano mode uses the normal layer of the maze aswell.
    The modes that are totally different than original gameplay are:
    – Coliseum Carnage
    – ZM
    – Ascension
    – Face to Face
    – Lords of Destruction
    – Ultimatum
    – Reverse

    Botox Thanks for the link, all admins should check this, I feel a headache when I see the words “bouncy physics”

  15. ... (Poney life) says:

    this is just crazy, i can’t wait the test, i can’t wait ๐Ÿ˜ฆ .
    (and it’s so sad, they is no turtle sound anyomre ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )
    PS : i’m for Ze_Paranoid_Extreme_V11.

  16. Cazador says:

    I voted Paranoid Awesome because that name is undoubtably the best but since it’s getting very few votes I’m for Paranoid Rezurrection. There are already enough ‘extreme’ and ‘ultimate’ things in other maps but Paranoid is completely diferent from them, also rezurrection is the name of all these map updates you are making so it would give a precise idea of which version it is.

  17. Kaemon says:

    ZE_Paranoid_v11
    Simple and classy. Labels not only are un-needed, but also uber-clichรฉ. XD

  18. Riperzz says:

    Are there any new changes to core?

  19. Anonymous says:

    What is the vertigo mod ? The map turn ?

  20. Patrรฃo says:

    wow, it looks awesome, can’t wait to play it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  21. Hulahottep says:

    The metal textures of the new bridges prior to the core are one of the crappiest from all the default ones imo

  22. Puni, Punisher, css_matt says:

    I agree with kaemon.

  23. mat.duf says:

    ze_paranoid or ze_paranoid_finale for me because I am not sure there will be much more version. Anyway sad to don’t see the come back of the reverse-silent hill and the turtle sound but, it gonna be crazy.

    ze_paranoid_crazy… why not. Personally I just really don’t like rezurrection because the map never died.Even il the v10_4 have been deleted from some servers because of crashes it has stayed in our heart for eternity.

    ze_paranoid_eternity…. why not. So gonna eat some bread

    ze_paranoid_bread… why not…… mmmmh maybe not.

    But one thing strange to me when I look at the first screen, you say the vis is not compiled so I remember func_details don’t appear, but….. the barriers are world geometry and not func_detail ?
    And really nice textures for the blocs of mods.

  24. [P]aaf_^ says:

    Revolution or Rezurrection would be great according to me.
    I would like to suggest you a song that everybody know and which is in total agreement with the “FUN” style of the map :

  25. Wind Nexus says:

    trolololol song should play once someone win solo xD

  26. Lol, I added this song before seeing your comment (you can play it with the Jukebox secret item).

    Paranoid_v11 would be boring, the surnames are funny, and this is not a serious map : )
    Textures of the bridge are crappy, I got it xD I received some good from ZaN.

  27. Riperzz says:

    Dont forget to add these songs (or some of them) to jukebox ๐Ÿ˜›




  28. [P]aaf_^ says:

    lol. U can play trolololo when a zm active “it’s a trap” for example. xD

  29. mat.duf says:

    Riperzz, want some meme songs ?






    which ones should be added ^^.

  30. Riperzz, I put already the Haddaway (What is love) song xD but I totally forgot Rick and the Lotr Remix. I had nightmares with Badgers song, anyway, I put the Pork song from Weebl xD
    Thanks for your suggestions ( I put some serious songs aswell)

  31. cripler says:

    when do you expect a beta verison to be up for testing? ๐Ÿ˜€

  32. Dr.[H]OUSE says:

    LoL +1 for Taking the hobbits to Isengard

  33. Yeeeeeeeeeee I got the driving license : D!
    Im going to finish the beta during this week, it’s really hard to test this map alone, and I almost fixed all the bugs I can find by myself. The first beta is gonna have 2.000 bugs.

  34. eule says:

    Congrats on your driving license, don’t drive too fast or we might never see more awesome maps out of your feather. :3

  35. Cookie says:

    now everyone will QQ when i TK them ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. Andrew says:

    Hannibal, if you need a server to test on, let me know! add me on steam – http://steamcommunity.com/id/sabresrock16

  37. Metro says:

    Andrew hes testing on my server 217.79.179.62:27015 ^^

  38. Metro says:

    reason what i mean my server is we tested Minas , Mako , Moria , Mount Doom there ^^ and paranoid will be the last test before i am sure Hannibal will work on Last man standing and Retire from SDK

  39. mat.duf says:

    “before i am sure Hannibal will work on Last man standing and Retire from SDK”
    ho yeah, a map called “Retire from SDK” ^^

  40. Metro says:

    ehm mat.duf what i mean is when hannibal is done with Paranoid hes last map will be Last man standing and then he will retire thats what he said so i believe in it ^^

  41. chet says:

    you have to fix mako players(zombies or humans) can glitch it and not getting teleport to jail (at bridge count from 10 stacks to 15) ask cazador he made video about it and then remove it
    I think this bug because bahamut don’t spawn since zombie can’t kill him

  42. Yeah Kaemon told me about that, Im gonna make a fast fix for Mount (classname at erendil crashin some servers) and this from Mako, it will be fast and I will not even create a big post for that.

    Paranoid is ready to be tested, but VRAD is not compiling yet, I have to found the non-working brush and fix. The map starts with 980 entities, and it gets 1310 on the worst case (8 titans vs 8 juggernauts). The map is full of shit and its pretty hard to optimize! I will not add more things, but from this to the release I may totally delete items you don’t like or something. We will have a test soon, as soon as the VRAD compiles.

  43. Fixed, it was the lightmap grid. Yeah, Paranoid so close!

  44. Cookie says:

    remove the rocket launcher,it does nothing

  45. KioneoneeR says:

    Hannibal, I have a question.
    When will you fix the new bug in maco reactor tht allows zombies or CTs to get in to the bunger before they are suposed to?
    It is very annoing.

  46. Cookie says:

    yeah that just happened on .bad,its fucking annoying,only noobs that cant beat the map on its own use that shit
    people ive seen using it
    Matador
    Cupra

  47. Anonymous says:

    On mako reactor there was a very strange bug. On extreme 2 after we have killed bahamut, we heared the noise of the laser of sephiroth and after 10 secondes there was the nuke and all dies.

  48. Wind Nexus says:

    @Anonymous there is a missed teleport spot on map (for zm cage) the question is “Is Hannibal is going to fix it or leave it be” ๐Ÿ˜€ (btw i don’t even know if he know about this bug)

  49. Cazador says:

    read comments?

  50. Anonymous says:

    7^2 + 1

  51. Anonymous says:

    any update on when the test will be available? also are you choosing specific servers or releasing the map to the public

  52. chet says:

    Why he make it public and when it have like 13 bugs at lest lol

  53. I hate and love at same time the fucking amazing Source Engine.
    Im fighting against the bugs/compile errors atm.

  54. chet says:

    So when it be out I finish my exams today ๐Ÿ˜€

  55. JorisCeoen says:

    Fighting is the correct word :S I’m also doing it all the time. Everytime I have an idea I first have to figure out how to bypass X amount of problems before I can do anything with it x)