Are you still mapping? Yes we are.

Posted: August 12, 2012 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, News

So… Long time no see, eh? Apparently Hannibal was feeling particularly enthusiastic this  last month as he published 7 news in a row without allowing me to ramble about anything!

As far as I know Hannibal is polishing his prefabs tool and getting it ready for release. Right now he is trying to find a good name for it that can be easily googled without stomping upon millions of non-related sites, not only from Hammer Source, but also that just sell rubber hammers or talk about natural sources of water… XD

Anyway… I wanted to use this rant to answer a question I get frequently asked this days:
Is <Introduce Mapper Name> still working on <Introduce Map Name>?
And the answer is: “Yes.

Hannibal already started ZE Last Man Standing sometime ago (and was looking good). He stopped in order to fix/improve his older maps to leave them as polished as possible before moving on. Paranoid being almost remade from scratch took a big amount of his time; and then he thought about doing the Prefab-Sharing program wich also took his attention away from Last Man Standing. But yeah, he is still planning to do and finish LMS, and he is really looking forward to start working on it again.

Luffaren is still working on his new ZE map. I promised around a month ago to write about it with more info; but then Hannibal striked with his ninja posts and I didn’t want to displace them. On top of that I talked with Luffaren about the possibilities of sharing some video, images or even info about his secret project, and he agreed… but then he couldn’t decide what to show and what not since he really doesn’t feel like revealing too much. Not even the theme of the map!
I can tell you, however, that he is working very hard on the map. He is trying to break all the limits Hammer has to offer! Right now I think he is aiming for something like 12 Stages with a different Boss Fight each!

Eddie (whom I didn’t see for a couple of months) told me this past week that he was working on a new version of Hypernova. He wants to fix the issues of the map (including some exploitable cargo elevator or some laggy green houses); but he is also working on expanding the map with new things. What kind of things? I’m couldn’t tell for sure; but apparently he wants to add more paths (randomizing them to some degree so is not like the current situation where there are 2 paths but everyone takes always the same one) and even adding new endings.

And about myself… Would you be surprised if I told you I had been slacking once more? No? Then maybe you will be when I tell you I haven’t! I have been working on ZE FFVII Junon!
Now, calm down everyone and hold your horses… Still a long way to go; but the map has seen some progress as I have worked around 20-30 hours on it this past week.
I would share images or more detailed info; but there isn’t really anything worth sharing at the moment. If you want to get an idea what the map and paths will look like, feel free to google for a FFVII Junon video, since I’m trying to make it as close to the original as possible.

By the way; I know CS:GO is getting really close and some people are curious and/or worried about what will happen. Well, I can only speak for us, but so far the plan is finishing our current projects for CS:S; so you shouldn’t worry about LMS or Junon being CS:GO-Only.
And about porting maps like Mako Reactor or Predator to CS:GO… All I can say is that currently there are no plans on rushing the ports; but I can see them easily happening if there aren’t too many entity incompatibilities that need to be fixed (wich could be a big issue for some of the maps).

However, with the current maps and ideas that have shown already on CS:S as a reference, the new possibilities that CS:GO brings (like increased limits or new and usefull entities), and the fact that it will be a new game on the light spot with Zombie Mod as a default mod (instead of a third party underground project) I can only start to imagine what maps will appear for CS:GO – Zombie Escape.

Comments
  1. Metro says:

    Hopefully he add all hes map to Globel Offensiv 😉

  2. Puni, Punisher, css_matt says:

    And about myself… Would you be surprised if I told you I had been slacking once more? No? Then maybe you will be when I tell you I haven’t! I have been working on ZE FFVII Junon!

    I dont believe you!! 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Things are progressing indeed, expect results in a ..far future?

  4. Magic says:

    Who is this ANONYMOUS–^ How should i know who that guy is? his picture doesnt give a clue at all.

  5. Joris Ceoen says:

    I tried porting ze_SSBB_b1 but as Enviolinador said, I’d better wait for som months after the release because many things are not working properly yet. Some things to name are: game_ui is really shitty right now…

    areaportals seem to be non functional yet which poses FPS-wise big problems for some of the maps (Mako).

    Weapons freezed in the air seems to be dissappearing (which is needed for special weapons)
    and most of all the particles bug considerably hard.

    For the rest, porting over content is done under 10mins, that’s not a big deal at all.

    I didn’t know Zombie Mod became an official mod for CS:GOç! That’s good to hear

  6. Puni, Punisher, css_matt says:

    Game Ui are shitty in CSS as well 🙂

  7. -L- says:

    yeah new hypernova!
    names..
    Hammer Source Unlimited
    Prefab Heaven
    ?^^

    When i think about this tool i wish it has a really good filtermenu, that u can find things easily and that it isnt so chaotic…. other thing is, imagine one person uploads only crap prefabs(for trolling maybe) that are not worth it…Maybe 1 person checks them quick or something like a rating system^^ but idk if this would be 2 much work then so dont take it so serious but just these 2 things in this tool could reduce the quality easily..

  8. Anonymous says:

    Is there chance that you release FFVII Junon for the december ?

    Names:
    Hammer Source Prefab Creator
    Hammer Source Infinity
    Hammer Source Revolution

  9. Anonymous says:

    Hammer Source Rezurrection

  10. Anonymous says:

    People this days calling ‘dipsy wippedy cube-with-magic cibery assigner’ a ‘Hammer Source’. Ah…

  11. Anonymous says:

    csgo ftw ive played on some servers its pretty cool: 1)There allready ze/zm servers 2)fps doesnt change much from css 3) buy it XD

  12. Anonymous says:

    CS:GO movement is retarded. Everything feels slow as fuck, and the game has a shitload of bugs still. Also, if you block someone on Steam, he won’t be able to join the server you are in.

  13. Joris Ceoen says:

    @last Anonymous:

    The movement is ok… If you can’t deal with it than I can understand that, even though the movement is really much like CS:S with different speeds overall :-/ ?

    Also, it has a shitload of bugs simply because most ported maps have too much entities that are not functional yet because they just ported it over without thinking of all the possible errors that could happen (which I saw with ze_SSBB_b1 <- impossible to port atm)

    I created a map from scratch for CS:GO to work with all the working things from start, and I'll see what will become better with updates (and what could possibly also become worse).

    @Puni

    game_ui's are shitty in CS:GO because they simply do no twork for my map atm: You have to pick up a knife to use them and currently weapons dissappear when you place them inside your map.:) It'll be fixed in time (as it's important for many mods).

  14. Anonymous says:

    I can not wait for CS:GO minas port.

  15. Agent Wesker says:

    CS:GO already has vehicles, check mg_piratewars_csgo_v2_fix for drivable boats.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Play the world most FFVII is a good group of people

  17. Joris Ceoen says:

    @ forelast Anonymous: As much I want it too, currently a port of Minas seems to be out of the question. Hannibal (and any other mapper with a very big map) should at least wait until 4 months after the release because the Source SDK for CS:GO is currently undergoing a lot of changes, and this will not stop for the incoming months.

    This includes a lot of bugs appearing out of nowhere, entities not working and so on… Mias has at least some of these entities that yet don’t work properly