Just 3 things: Junon, Paranoid and Hannibal and Hannibal.

Posted: December 12, 2012 by Kaemon in Hannibal is mad!, Kaemon's Rants, ZE FFVII Junon

So just let me mention 3 things really fast.

First of all, Junon is still advancing at a good rate and I’m pretty proud of my low levels of slackness. However I see now that I underestimated the amount of work still to do and overestimated the rate at which I do it, so unless I don’t detail it nor add bosses I don’t see releasing this year a possibility… (And that won’t happen).
Still, I will keep mapping and try to release as soon as possible without risking the integrity of the map.

I put enough rooms together so it was worth showing to a couple of friends so they get the scope of the map’s size; but nothing really worth screenshots so far. However, here are two screenshots from the main street while looking at the cannon.
The first one is old. I took it about a year ago to the very first placeholder undetailed cannon when I was trying to get the size of the city right and started working around it. The second one is how it looks right now; its also still undetailed, but it sure shows that now has a better shape, more depth and is closer to the looks of the “real” cannon…
There is also a major spoiler showing on the screenshot, and I thought about not posting it because of that but ey, many people (those who played Final Fantasy VII) were already waiting for that to be a part of the map.

This image is more than 1 year old. The place holder cannon shows how straight and thin it was.

This image is more than 1 year old. The placeholder cannon (and the central “carapace”) were very straight (no depth whatsoever), simple and thin.

This more recent screenshot has a better-shaped and detailed cannon. The monster model is a place holder, and won't be in the final map.

In this recent screenshot you can see how both the cannon and the carapace have a better shape and show more depth.
Don’t mind that little fella.

About Paranoid… Some people keep me asking when or if a new version will release, to which the answer is: Yes, and I don’t know.
Paranoid is Hannibal‘s business. I helped with the map, but long time ago; haven’t touched any of the most recent versions and even if I did, it would still be up to Hannibal to make the final call and compile it.
There will be a new version at some point, but probably not this year. Hannibal is aware of the few remaining bugs (of which the Juggernaut not removing Immortality and/or Invisibility is the biggest one), but doesn’t feel they are so big he needs to rush the fix-version, so he is just taking some rest from editing while people play, find and report new minor bugs or weird interactions.

And now about Hannibal & Hannibal… There are one or two guys that are impersonating Hannibal on steam; adding people and telling them stuff. Not like we care a lot, but I thought it was worth mentioning it.
If you want to know how to tell apart the real Hannibal for the fake one, here is the easiest way: Hannibal doesn’t add people on steam… In fact, his friend list has been full for a whole year.
So, if Hannibal added you, he is the fake one. XD

Some hints to tell if you are dealing with the fake Hannibal:

  • He added you? Fake. Hannibal doesn’t add people on Steam, much less in a randomly and spammed fashion. On top of that his Friend List has been full for more than a year.
  • He only insults you, blathers, talks incoherently and/or abuses the N-Word? Fake. (For obvious reasons)
  • He doesn’t speak correct spanish? Fake… and that goes without saying. XD
  • He asks you for money? Fake. Hannibal added a Paypal button on this blog and his maps, and that’s it; he doesn’t harass people for money, and specially not with menaces of banning or not releasing.
  • He tells you that X Map/Version is being released/tested today? Fake. We usually warn about those in the blog or to the admin that needs to upload the test, not to random people in a server or a single guy on steam chat.

For those interested, the fake Hannibal has also a fake Steam Group of this blog. If you are still not on our steam group and/or know someone that may be interested this is the real group: LINK

We use it mostly to let people online know when this blog is updated. Hannibal doesn’t really comment in there, so if you see Hannibal talking nonsense is just that I haven’t seen/deleted it yet. Also, if the real one was ever to post on the group he would have a yellow star near its nickname, like I do.

So that’s pretty much it. I’m going back to mapping Junon (just woke up, 06:50 here in Spain as I post this).
And if you are interested into knowing why this guy is so mad at Hannibal; I really don’t know why he started (apart of trolls gonna troll), but I think his recent comeback to activity its because his Steam ID is one of the few that were banned on the latest Paranoid release… for impersonating Hannibal previously and trying to troll us… XD

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Junon, Paranoid, Hannibal and Hannibal is 4 things!
    Great, thank you for the update.

  2. Kaemon says:

    No, because the third thing is “Hannibal and Hannibal”. XD
    It was an attempt at a poorly made word-joke. XD

  3. dillinger says:

    That guy added me and I was thinking…”why on earth would the almighty Hannibal request my audience? This must be a miracle!” Then I found out it was all a sham and blocked him 😦

  4. Moltard says:

    The guy had me, about 6 month ago, but i saw the historical of name, and he had a lot of fake name, so i blocked it.

  5. Joris Ceoen says:

    I had the fucking ‘LMS will be tested tomorrow at 8:00PM’ joke from that Hannibal. He was along with another ‘Tony Montana’ in group chat… I fell right into it x)

    So it’s not only Hannibal, but mainly for sure… Both are blocked anyways

  6. Spyro40k says:

    Look to my coming on the first server which has Junon on, at dawn look to the east.

  7. Searaphim says:

    that WEAPON is cute :3

  8. -L- says:

    u think we can pick it up when we drop our pistols?

  9. mat.duf says:

    I remember he tried to ask me for donation in the blog, I wanted to trap him asking the biggest secret of Moria and surprisingly he gave me the right answer. Good troll indeed (he also has few other account like Keamon, Luffaren and Tony Montana > not to hava an empty friend list.)

  10. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    Thanks to this post Kaemon. Some months ago, I add Hannibal (the faker, of course) to ask him things about mapping and he is insulting me, call to me noob and somethings worse. For the first moment, i thought he is a stupid jerk (sorry for the language, but its what im feeling) with a bigger egocentrism, but I see another Hannibal in STEAM and then I thought its one person to pretend that he was the really Hannibal, but thank you to post that (and sorry to Hannibal too).

  11. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    Its true Hannibal will do another version for minas tirith?I heard of paranoid, but im not sure about minas.

  12. Kaemon says:

    For the moment he doesn’t has a new Minas Tirith version in mind.

  13. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    ok thanks kaemon and good luck with the Junon. I want to be the first to test the map 🙂

  14. Searaphim says:

    ARRR! I miss minas! D:

  15. Searaphim says:

    Can’t he make another version to celebrate The Hobbit’s release? haha

  16. Moltard says:

    Does Hannibal make a Helm Deep version for CS:GO ? because on Gametracker i saw in the historic of a zombie escape server, the map ze_lotr_helms_de… (Can’t see the end because the word is cut).
    Picture: HERE

  17. Metro says:

    the fake hannibal is Frosti NLD

  18. Kaemon says:

    Metro, we have known him to be involved for a long time, but we don’t even care who they are 🙂

  19. Metro says:

    i know kaemon its just hes annoying prick trolling around

  20. Captain_Jack says:

    When Junon map will be finished??

  21. [P]aaf_^ says:

    Hey Kaemon !

    I was thinking about what you said about Junon… If you believe the map is too big, maybe you should make it shorter and compact.
    I take the example of the skyrim map. Personnaly, i think the map is very beautiful and detailled. We can feel that the mapper made a lot of effort on it with the different caracters and particles stuff. (i don’t know anything in mapping :D) He made a good job. But, about the gameplay, i think the map is too long and we run too much. Sometimes, it looks like more a marathon than a zombie escape map. 😀 It’s not what I prefer.

    According to me, it’s better something little and cute than something too long and too monotonous. Players need action and fun.

    I would like to remind that is it only my point of view. I didn’t want to offend Skyrim lovers.
    You are free to take innto account my advise

  22. Kaemon says:

    Captain Jack: I don’t know, but my guess is on 2013. When the map is getting close to completion and/or online test start being needed we will let know with posts on the blog and the Steam Group.

    Paaf: Looking back at Junon as it is; if I started it again from zero, I would probably make some areas/things smaller; but as it is, there is no going back now. I think it won’t be a problem, and it sure helps looking big and epic.
    On the worst-case scenario I will cut some stages that were intended as one into two with a Save-Point in the middle.

  23. Moltard says:

    Skyrim is good, but its right, we more run that cover (not all players cover, so its more dificult), the map is not to hard now, a lot of players know what make and when.

    Otherwise, a little problem with the builder of Paranoid, we can’t create a barricade when we want (even we don’t create the 10 or 15 walls). I don’t know why but it become difficult to survive if we want to block a zombie in it.

  24. Alpharadia says:

    So you mean to tell me, that the guy named “Hannibal” that added me on steam to tell me that my ze map sucked, that i was a bad mapper, was the fake hannibal ? Even if it had the same picture ? I still doubt it a bit…

  25. Kaemon says:

    Sorry for taking so long to aprove and answer your comment Alpharadia; but Christmas is always busy for me (too many family dinners and gatherings) and you didn’t comment on the newest post.

    You can doubt it as much as you want, but neither me nor Hannibal add people on Steam, much less randomly, and even less for insulting… Not even if we had the time to waste. XD