Happy New Year 2 Weeks Later! D’oh.

Posted: January 13, 2013 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, News

So… A new year passes… Not only are now in 2013 but the blog became 2 years old yesterday. And once more the only proof I have of the passing time is my empty heart full of non-released maps πŸ˜›

I haven’t touched Junon for more than 2 weeks; but I’m going back to working on it today. At first I had Christmas as an excuse, with all the family and friends gatherings; but then I was just out-of-the-mood for a while… Anyway, back to the work!

I really don’t have anything new to share, but this is how things are going with the mappers I know that are doing Zombie Escape maps right now:

  • I go back to working on Junon today… Still not sure when I will be able to release; I will let you guys get an idea as it gets closer to be complete.
  • Hannibal has worked on Last Man Standing during the holidays, but he still wants to focus on finishing the prefab tool first.
  • Luffaren has finished Stage 1 and 2 of his secret project. There are still lot of stages to go, but he also made all the systems and items that support the whole map, so it should progress faster from now on.
  • Joris Ceoen, after following my 12-steps slacking program, finally went back to work on his SSBB map.
  • Limon, creator of Minas Tiret, seems to be working on a Isengard map which has named Izengard so far πŸ˜›
  • Tony Montana has been working on a Zelda Ocarina of Time map for a while now that looks quite good; let’s hope he finishes it at some point.
  • Error17 has been slacking even more than myself with a Metal Gear Shadow Moses map that was looking really well… If you know him, bother him with finishing the map πŸ˜›
  • Eddie went MIA when his new version of Hypernova seemed really close to completion.
  • “A Couple of Guys” are working on a couple of Minecraft maps.
  • Enviolinador is working on 1d4 map/s at the same time. Some secret, some… bananas…
  • Paranoid has become a self-aware being and is now seeking to destroy the weak human minds that adventure into its labyrinths.

So that’s pretty much it. If you are a mapper that I know that is working on a Zombie Escape map and I forgot mentioning you, well… Bad luck Kagalera πŸ˜›
Now I will go back to working on Junon and try to start working several hours a day on it again with the hopes of releasing someday. Wish me luck or bring me a sandwich. Both are fine, but I prefer the later.

Comments
  1. Spyro40k says:

    Good to hear everyone’s on the ball again.
    Oh and, here’s your sandwich!

  2. Joris Ceoen says:

    YOU… WILL… SLACK!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Oh, I’d rather wish you a luck.
    Move on, Hannibal, Kaemon!

  4. Kim says:

    Happy 13. january!

  5. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    OMG, much maps coming! Its gonna be boring to upload ALL! (luffaren Secret Project maybe will have more than 80MB, junon near 80 too, LMS maybe more than 100, SSBB maybe 100MB too (because of many models), hypernova will be the same size (maybe), and Enviolinador will be more than 90MB (like paper escape))

    Well, GOOD LUCK FOR ALL!!!!!

  6. tormacoy says:

    Kagalera never got luck, poor xD

  7. DJ-Kagalera says:

    ARE U KIDDING ME? WTF! XD

  8. Luffaren says:

    @Hallucinogenic Troll

    I’m sorry to inform you that the map is currently at 135Mb as i’m working on stage 3 out of 15.
    However most/all models, materials and sounds is already implemented in it, so i’d expect the map to be at around 200-250Mb once fully finished.

  9. Joris Ceoen says:

    SSBB capped already at 250MB or something since the last test, which was months ago. The final product MIGHT be over 300mb, sorry for that

  10. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    Shii, the maps will be very fun, but for ppl who will download when join the server, uiiiii!!!

  11. Anonymous says:

    Everybody knows that Junon will look like one of those bad boatescape versions at the end because Kaemon is terrible, terrible at everything.

  12. Anonymous says:

    COMPRESS YOUR DAMN MUSIC FILES SO WE DON’T HAVE TO DOWNLOAD 300MB DAAAAAMMMMMNNNN

  13. Moltard says:

    I recommand for all players to download maps by gamebanana, its more fast, otherwise i made the biggest list of zombie escape map + link (to DL them) !!! http://steamcommunity.com/groups/ZombieEscapeMaps

  14. Anonymous says:

    lets gooooo HANNIBAL i want to see your LMS map lets go more faster xDD πŸ™‚

  15. Joris Ceoen says:

    My soundfiles are compressed thank you, buy a better PC might be a good idea if you can’t handle 300MB download.

  16. Metro says:

    sorry to say but is it possible play over 300mb with 50slots i expect lag ^^

  17. Anonymous says:

    300 mo .rar or 300 mo .bsp ? :p

  18. Joris Ceoen says:

    The amount of the .bsp shouldn’t be decisive about lagg.

    In my maps list the biggest maps in size are ze_last_city and as secondary ze_destruction_of_exorath, bot maps which don’t lagg in the slightest. It MIGHT only lagg at the very first try wehn everyone will be DLing the map, but other than that, it shouldn’t.

    If it would lagg, it would be due to 40 game_ui’s, the most any map ever had until now.

    I don’t even know for sure it will surpass 300MB, lastly it was something like 240mb or something. There isn’t THAT much being added.

  19. Anonymous says:

    Joris: “My soundfiles are compressed thank you, buy a better PC might be a good idea if you can’t handle 300MB download.”

    Nothing to do with my computer, a five year old computer can download the same speed as on a new computer, mine was built a few months ago, thanks.

    The problem I have a found is that people just give up download huge maps on the zombie escape server, when we play Skyrim, the population drops from 40/40 to about 15/40.

  20. Joris Ceoen says:

    Well that’s what’s GAMEBANANA for, in the case of Skyrim it’s pretty much Kim and Pass their fault. I sent Kim the link where Gamebanana now stated that they CAN upload maps with loads of custom content under a new set of rules.

    Otherwise, there are BIG maps that are available for download on GB πŸ™‚

    People are just lazy to look for the links, or are too lazy to wait and not understand it’s normal when everyone is DLding the map

  21. Moltard says:

    “People are just lazy to look for the links”
    This is why i made this group: http://steamcommunity.com/groups/ZombieEscapeMaps

    With 200 maps (about), i believe its the biggest list of ze map with a very simple system to find a map (alphabetically), join the group if you want.

    “or are too lazy to wait and not understand it’s normal when everyone is DLding the map”
    There is no solution for that, if they dont dl maps they always sames maps and never player newest (that are often good)

  22. PUNI says:

    Does Limon post here? Someone contacted me on Gamebanana the otherday about using my Isengard Tower, maybe it was him

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/256/lolreduxisengardwow.png/

  23. Kaemon says:

    As already stated, the quality of your computer has nothing to do with your download speed. Also, there exist a bandwidth limit you can’t surpass, and no matter how good your computer is, or how much money you want to expend on your internet connection, you can’t exceed the maximum allowed where you live.

    This next sentence may backfire on my face when I complete Junon; but so far, most of the newest maps are too big because of the mappers fault. Adding textures and models that are used once or twice and that could had just used default ones instead… Abusing cubemaps (most of the time with mediocre results) that increase the map’s size by dozens of MBs,.. Not increasing the LightMapGrid size when no shadows are cast on the surfaces (this can greatly affect the map size)… Not reducing the models (or brushwork) textures they are using that don’t really need to be that high quality (take for example if Luffaren didn’t reduce Predator’s skin textures from 96 to 6 MBs); so most of the time is laziness yeah, but not from part of the one having to download a 300 MBs map (multiple times most of the time because of fixing/adding versions) but from part of the mapper.
    Also, don’t forget that downloading 5 times 200 MBs of map because of 4 newer versions, not only takes time that you wanted to expend playing (not downloading) but also leaves you with 1 Gigabyte worth of the same map on your computer… Yeah, you can go to the folder and delete it; but most people won’t and some don’t know.

    And about the map’s size affecting the lag… I also think it doesn’t. However Minas Tirith takes noticeably longer to load than your average maps. Not completely sure if for the size itself or for the amount of custom content, but those two factors go by hand most of the time.

    PUNI: I don’t think Limon is going to read you and post here; specially knowing how bad he is with english; but I will ask him for you if you want.
    However after checking the Limon’s Izengard image I have and comparing with yours, I can tell you that its definitely a different one. Yours seems more detailed and better shaped overall to me, even if both are quite similar, obviously, being based on the same images/movies of the same object.

  24. Joris Ceoen says:

    I have no such textures or sounds that are over 5MB, and if I do there are only a handful, all countable on one hand.

    I’m sorry but if I were to use half-life 2 tree’s in my map they would be very ugly. I had to choose different tree models (of which I think there are only 3 different ones included for the spawn ONLY).

    I don’t abuse cubemaps, but none of them isn’t good either, since I have created special envmapmasks on most characters to make them much nicer.

    And the reason why it’s 250-300mb is because SSBB simply has dozens of custom content. None of them are replaceable by any Valve content at all :-/

    Really tbh I did my best to reduce the entire filesize, but it’s simply impossible to go beyond a minimum border for the minimum of quality that I want and that’s qualified for a good map the least to say.

    I’ve seen mappers putting fucking 50MB .wav filesounds in their .bsp’s….

  25. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    If for example, paranoid has only WAV sounds, the map will be more than 300MB (With MP3 the map has 113MB).

    Maybe the tutorials found in many places (Youtube is the most search) saying to put in WAV, and dont tell about put MP3

  26. Kaemon says:

    The problem with that Hallucinogenic Troll, is that you can’t hear MP3s on Hammer when trying to test/check the sounds, only WAVs, which gives the impression that only the WAV files work.
    However, MP3 do play properly while playing, is just that they don’t seem to work while on the map editor.

  27. mat.duf says:

    Envio should be working on :
    – bananas
    – egypt
    – deathrun/mg
    – paper
    – maybe dejavu update
    – italian town update
    – maybe black mesa/ aztec update (someday….)

    About map size, personally the heaviest map I know is cs_mbp (can be find typing “metro budapest”) with is 450 uncompressed, it runs very smoothly because the size is done because of full HD textures packed.

  28. Moltard says:

    Slayerdragon say me that he is working on a ze map and giving me the theme but i wont reveal it now. I let him reveal his project to everyone.

  29. Joris Ceoen says:

    Lol is that map from slayerdragon a secret? I know it as well, but I didn’t knew he wants to keep it secret.

  30. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    Actually, I know the theme and i think the map will be very great, and will be very sucessful.

  31. Moltard says:

    Its maybe not a secret but he said me that it will be a stage map.
    You can easily know what is the theme of the map by watching the server when he make tests of his map.

  32. No. says:

    @matduf

    Bananas is part of another map which won’t be done in a while.
    Egypt’s .vmf got fucked and I lost it.
    Deathrun/MG was scrapped after ze_random and bleh.
    Paper… In a while.
    Italy Town is being mapped by Cisneros, I just did a shitty fix for my old server (we tested Cis’ version today!).
    Aztec was updated for GO. I’ve never liked that map much (same as italy, just a quickfix/change for my old server), but maybe I could do a back-port.
    Blackmesa remix… Cisneros will have to do that.

    So nope, those maps aren’t the 4 ones I’m working one, although one of those 4 was released three days ago (christmas infection); I started working on another one, though, so it’s still 4.

  33. tormacoy says:

    Envi a fregar!

  34. Moltard says:

    On Paranoid Rezurrection can you say me, how many player we must be to open more labyrinths (like 10, 20), but the precise number for each labyrinths.

  35. PUNI says:

    Okay thanks for the reply Kaemon. I may not be as active around here anymore but DAMN I am still looking forward to Junon, I rarely ever play CS anymore but I must play Junon (if I dont die of old age!)

    PS: The top half of my isengard is mainly flat surfaces with custom textures so its not that detailed! (2/3 of the tower is skybox)

  36. Limon. says:

    Hi, Puni my tower MODEL,which is located in the skybox. Sorry,bad english.
    gl hf.

  37. bing.de says:

    Hello Kaemon, I am big fan of your work πŸ™‚
    I only want to say I expect that you release Junon map soon because the wait is extremely impatient.
    And I wish I meet you some day in Css

    Thx

  38. Anonymous says:

    News about Junon ?

  39. Anonymous says:

    ANY news?