A Quick Update & Some Streaming.

Posted: March 13, 2013 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, News

Its a pity that there aren’t news about us more often so I can post more; but that is things are.

I managed to get back to working on Junon, but there is still long way to go. To be honest, I think that most of the time I map with the idea of never finishing it, I hope to prove myself wrong at some point. Luffaren was busy with homework, so he didn’t work a lot in his project lately, and even if he did he usually prefers to keep it to himself to both reduce the hype and suprise you guys. Eddie told me he was almost done with his new Hypernova version, but haven’t talked with him for a couple of weeks; not sure if he lost motivation again (those things happen).
And for Joris Ceoen, he has been mapping for a couple of contests now, pulling him away from working on fixing SSBB.

And about Hannibal… He talked to me about the possibility of closing the blog; but he saw that I was still posting by time to time so he let it go and changed subject. He is thinking about dropping his application for prefabs, as he keeps encountering unexpected problems that he doesn’t seem able to fix, and the tool has already taken away too much of his time and spirit as it is.

However, he is still in the mood for mapping what could be his last ZE map, Last Man Standing. Sadly the map didn’t progress at all in the last months because of his new job/life and the time spent on the prefab tool. He wants me to help with the map when he gets back to it at full, but I’m not sure if I will (unless Junon is finished by then) or if I may ask him for help finishing Junon before both of us going to LMS; we will see what happens.

So, that is pretty much it. Not a lot of happy news today. Hopefully they will get more cheerful when some of us gets close to the release date of his project.

However, take in mind that there are other skilled mappers that I don’t talk about that keep releasing ZE maps now and then, like JB_Gamble‘s last map: ZE_Parkers_Pit. A really nicely put together map with the most classic ZE gamestlye along with 5 stages/endings, and wich I believe has a challenge running right now.

Also, the other day, Zombie_Furbie, creator of ZE Holmes Escape, decided to do a ZE-Mapping Live Stream (you can check his streams HERE)
After seeing that I decided to give streaming a try myself (check Kaemon‘s Streamings HERE). However, please take in mind that those are my first attempts at streaming and I didn’t give much thought about it; so the videos are long, boring and amateurish. You can see some Junon in there (even if it lacks details and even minor polishing), some other test maps and even a little mapping (again, slow boring one, and I was only putting some pieces together, not real mapping shown in there). I had music running since I didn’t feel like attempting to speak English out loud, having like I have almost zero practice at doing so. Let me know if you watch them and enjoy. XD

Comments
  1. chet says:

    more stream=more mapping its not bad but the second steam was long make it like 30-50m everyday and you finish before you know it

  2. Joris Ceoen says:

    Parker’s Pit is the best map until now that I have ever seen or played, it’s just feels so natural!

  3. Why not open-source the prefab tool and share it on Github instead of dropping all the work?

  4. Kaemon says:

    I will mention that to him Bruno. No idea if he was already planning on doing that or if he didn’t even thought about it.

  5. Hallucinogenic Troll says:

    The prefab tool is like the Source SDK but with more functions and more space to do the map?

  6. Kaemon says:

    No at all H.T. Is a program that allows you to save and load prefabs made with Hammer.
    The idea is that, instead of going to Gamebanana (for example) and check for CS:S Prefabs and look for a House there; you would load the program and filter it for “House”. You would also be able to filter them by Author, like checking all the Prefabs made and uploaded by Luffaren (or any other user of the tool).

    The cool thing is that the program automatically includes everything that is used on the prefab. So if you get the Jukebox from Paranoid (or even the whole map!) and upload it, people downloading it would already have (and installed in the correct folders) all the custom textures, models and sounds that are used by the prefab.

    All those things were already tested and working. I really don’t know what problems Hannibal was having, but I think their are related to the network (like not being able to upload prefabs) or something like that. But then again, if I don’t know I should just shut up about it šŸ˜›

  7. bing.de says:

    Good map (9/10)

  8. PUNI says:

    Have you guys ever thought about moving over from source and even CS and having a go at something more up/to/date, advanced?

    Ive only touched the surface with modding and creating worlds in Arma but it is very rewarding and has so much potential.

  9. Searaphim says:

    Loved how you listened to Lilium from Elfen Lied on your streaming :3