Serpentis is still progressing, don’t worry!

Posted: January 15, 2014 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, MG Serpentis Temple, News, ZE Last Man Standing

Just a quick rant to make it clear that we are still working on Serpentis (and Luffaren is feeling more like it now). He wanted to release yesterday, then tonight… But I’m being slow with my room (I’m almost done now but unlike him I believe we have still some work to do in other areas).

Thing is, I didn’t work on the map for 2 straight weeks during the holidays, as both family reunions and IRL friends with too much free time took away mine; but now I have been back to work for a week.
The map is looking good and should be ready soon enough (I want to think this weekend). Right now I’m finishing my room and Luffaren is done with the other one I designed, but both will require some testing and I believe Luffaren‘s one is turning out a little easy and short and we may have to work a little on that.
The first room Luffaren gave me to become one of the 8th Crystal Room was too bland and easy so I cut it in half and I used the good part for a mini-trap in the very beginning of the map.
We also added a new ambient music, and unlike the rest of the sounds, I did chose this one. I’m kinda curious to see if people like my taste on music.

And as for people that keep asking if Hannibal is still alive and/or mapping, yes and yes. He is still working on Last Man Standing when his schedule allows, and I will be joining him when we release Serpentis Temple, even if its only for making propper-models for him (hopefully for some detailing and both minor and major changes/suggestions as well).
In the meantime here is a hammer screenshot that he just sent me some minutes ago (trying to motivate me to help him, not really for me to post on the blog). Take in mind that is a work-in-process and that it was taken from the editor without lights/etc, but should help you to get an idea of what kind of ambient you may expect from this map.

LastManStanding

An area from Stage 3 (out of 5) of Hannibal’s map “Last Man Standing”.
Taken from Hammer, not spectacular but now you can say you saw the map 😛

As a last note; I think we won’t be posting Serpentis’ Changelog for at least 1 week after release; I don’t want to spoil anything for those adventurers that love going in without knowing what they will encounter. Even if its still the same old map they already know, a minor change here or there may take them by surprise.
In fact, I did add a screenshot of one of the new rooms and wrote both their names in the rant, but I decided against it, edited and instead put Last Man Standing one. Enjoy!

Comments
  1. Joris Ceoen says:

    Lol Kaemon, you should stop trying to find excuses for not mapping, it’s not necesary. You do what you want, whenever you want and if you want to stop mapping forgood, why not? xD

    Take your time and enjoy everything you do, it’s better to map that way than trying to push yourself doing something that is momentarily not what you need to do, because else you’ll be creating horrible maps 😀

  2. Metro says:

    nice ;D

  3. Anonymous says:

    I love you work kaemon, i feel elated when I notice that a new post will be publish. May accidentally end up being a man, tony. So yes, very nice map kaemon, keep progressing with this stuff, we love you m8