Serpentis Heads Up

Posted: February 10, 2014 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, MG Serpentis Temple

UPDATE: Almost, but couldn’t make it. Going to sleep, will release tomorrow.

Just letting you guys know that most likely I will be releasing a playable version of Serpentis Temple later today.
The map will be called MG_Serpentis_Temple_B3 (as still Beta) but could be the final version. I didn’t want to call it V1 because I didn’t include everything I wanted, but knowing me I may never do.

This version will be hopefully bug-free (as we tested it a lot) but you know the drill… No matter how much you test/check something there are usually some bugs that only show online on full servers.
Most likely it won’t have the crash issue and particles will be visible to everyone.

As for what was missing for not calling it V1:
– I didn’t improve the room Luffaren made (7th room), so I’m not happy with the results. Consider it the new old Lava-Room. XD
– The Water Wheels (4th room) is still pretty much the same and still only requires one player (I wanted to include needed Team Work but I’m taking forever so I dind’t remake the room).
– The last room (8th room) will probably be always the same path, as adding randomization to it its very hard because what is about.

Since I don’t want to spoil anything new, just look at the entrances. XD

But apart from that, I’m kinda happy with the results. Many of the improvements are really minor but overall the map looks better and should play better, with minor gameplay tweaks and size and FPS improvements.
I haven’t done the final-final compile but looks like the map will be around 85 MBs (compared to b1 115 MBs, b1_fix 136 MBs and b2 144 MBs), so that’s good news.
Its also really nice finally seeing the main room having 8 symbols and 8 working portals.

But man did the map took me long in the end…
Not only I had a 2-week-slacking period where I didn’t touch it, but I also had to make tons of new props to avoid the engine limits (mostly planes), as Source really-really hates non-straight constructions and brushes at an angle. But at least, making things into props allowed me to improve some visuals (as I would remove 1 brush and make a 7-brush prop for it, as with the “Symbol Frames” in the screenshot).
I would love to do the other things this version will be missing, but it may take me from a month to forever… So I will just go ahead and release B3, and MAYBE someday in the future release V1.

Anyway… Going back to finish it. Hopefully (and most likely) will be published today.
If you are really a Serpentis Lover, I would personally suggest you to play it for the first time online on a server without spectating through the map, even if there are only two new rooms. You can have a first impression.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    🙂

  2. spyro40k says:

    Yay!! Been waiting for ages to play this again. Now, Junon is next?? ^^

  3. Joris Ceoen says:

    Kaemon releasing a map…

    Is it the sign of the apocalypse?

  4. Kaemon says:

    Spyro: Next is helping Hannibal with Last Man Standing. I will at least make it compilable (doing lots of props) while making them better for visuals.

    Joris: Your last model’s face is the sign of the apocalypse.

    Also, not sure if I will finish this today… One of my eyes is annoying the crap out of me. Will try still.

  5. Hydreigon says:

    If this version turns out to be a success (In terms of not as many glitches and no crash at medusa), then go on to helping Hannibal with LMS and working on Junon.

  6. Kaemon says:

    Nah, couldn’t make it today. Tomorrow almost for sure. Going to sleep now. Sorry 😛