It’s been two months? No way!

Posted: May 18, 2014 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, ZE FFVII Junon, ZE Hypernova, ZE Last Man Standing, ZE MGS Shadow Moses, ZE Project L

Ey, anybody surprised on this blog not updating more frequently? I didn’t think so! ^_^U

So… As mentioned on the last post I spent sometime in France. When I came back I just chilled out with IRL friends and slacked, then went to play some Dota and slack some more…
Finishing Serpentis should be around 2 days worth of work, but I have managed to not finish it yet… That must be some kind of new record. Anyway, right now I’m trying to get more “serious” (for what its worth) with mapping again. The current plan is finishing Serpentis and then going back to Junon at last. I have been feeling like mapping some Junon for a time now.

Hannibal is still doing some serious work on Last Man Standing when he cans and the map is progressing well. He has all 5 stages mapped and propped (he told me he has done over 500 props) and is now detailing and triggering them (right now he is working on stage 3 after finishing 1 and 2). I don’t know how much polishing/testing/detailing will be needed after the map is done; so still not date on when the map will come out.
Also, since I was slacking and not helping him at all, he got someone else to do his bidding; so now Zuff (not to confuse with Luff) is helping him a little with the map so its not so tedious for poor little Hannibal. So far he helped him with a Stage and Event system using those new fancy techniques that are way more clean and don’t require physics to work.

Luffaren on the other hand… he is now on the slacking team (even if he opened Hammer after I pasted him what I was going to post here). Problem is he now has a job, he spent sometime working on an Unity game with some IRL friends that got abandoned, and he is learning some coding when he has some free time. He says however that the map is not stopped and that we shouldn’t worry (which roughly translates in: “Worry! All hope is lost!”)
Man, between LMS, Junon and Luffaren‘s secret project we are getting ridiculous at how long we take to not release a map… on the other hand, you have Enviolinador.

Enviolinador, as many of you should have noticed, has released lots of maps lately, the guy is a mapping machine and doesn’t slack at all. His most recent map and version is ZE_Boredom_v418216 (LINK) which has big chances of being the final, stable, working and balanced version, so update your servers to it if you haven’t. The first stages are sightly easier (so hopefully no more 0-14) the lag in the end should be gone and some things have been fixed (like the boss delaying the “allowing zombies in” so it would stack with his next attack).
He is also about to release a new ZE_Taboo version with the contest winners on it, so stay tuned for v2. It will also include cvars (some admins may be familiar with them from his map ZE_Antartika) and an extreme mode (because Taboo wasn’t hard enough).

I also briefly talked with both Eddie and error17, which you may remember from ZE_Hypernova and ZE_Shadow_Moses respectively.
Eddie, believe it or not, is still working by time to time on a new Hypernova version that should add many things (I believe) and he keeps fighting the engine limits on faces/props.
error17, even if is now apparently following my self published How To Slack For Dummies rulebook, he assures me he still wants to release his map at some point. Will take long? Who knows? But here is a video of an early implementation of the Raven fight:

Anyway… That is it for today. Now I’m going to eat something and then will see if I go mapping some Serpentis.
I may stream it on Twitch or something (will give link if I do so, here and on the Steam Group) and see if I slack less that way.

Comments
  1. Joris Ceoen says:

    I’m still reading it! I’m reading it more than I play ZE 🙂

  2. Kaemon says:

    Now that you mention it, haven’t see you in a while in-game. No wonder I was so happy while playing >:-P

  3. Metro says:

    u still not slacking do u Kaemon ;D

  4. Spyro says:

    Yes, I still read the blog although I do not play ZE much anymore as well. Why? I don’t know, maybe I just need some more flavour. I’ve been saying to myself that I would start playing a lot more when the new mega maps are released (Junon, LMS etc) Hopefully this will be the case.

    Anyway, good to see everyone back on track! Looking forward to playing again.