MG Serpentis Temple V1 – RELEASED!

Posted: June 25, 2014 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, Map Update, MG Serpentis Temple

So, after much testing and fixing, 4 beta versions played for dozens of hours and the help of many test subjects, here it is finally, in all its glory, MG Serpentis Temple V1!

MG Serpentis Temple V1

MG Serpentis Temple V1 – Finally Released!

DOWNLOAD from Kaemon’s Dropbox: DROPBOX
DOWNLOAD from Sendspace: SENDSPACE
DOWNLOAD from Gamebanana: GAMEBANANA

< READ THE CHANGELOG >

The full changelog can also be found within the .rar file, for those interested in checking all the changes. It covers everything that got edited from the original version to the current one.
If you would like a short version of what this version offers… Well, everything should be working now: No crashes. Particles and Cubemaps show up properly. Many traps and areas have been balanced and polished. The map its decent at last!

Take in mind, its still the good old Serpentis. Even if it has been fixed and got rid of most of the bugs and annoyances the map and gameplay remain pretty much the same, so if you never liked it, you probably won’t like it now neither.
There may still be some minor glitches or annoyances here or there (I noticed you can sometimes hear the helicopter in Medusa’s Chamber), but after so many hours of working on the map I feel like I’m done, so deal with it (still, feel free to report any bugs/problems in the case I someday end doing a fast fix version).

At some point in time I would like to make a new map of this style, but bigger and better. Not only would I be doing a good layout/idea/plan ahead (instead of this “clusterfuck” we rushed for a Gamebanana Contest back in the day) but I would also take advantage of all the things I learned while mapping and testing Serpentis; from better ways of doing certain things to knowing what works and doesn’t in terms of online gameplay. But first I should finish other things… Final Fantasy related things…

So, as mentioned on the previous post, now I will focus on making ZE FFVII Mako Reactor V6 and fix all those annoying glitches/crashes people found about. I may take a while, as I map slowly and test a lot; but its coming. I would post withing the next weeks more info about it; in the meantime please restrain of suggesting the same 5 things everyone suggested to me already (adding Easy back, making Extreme 3, adding Materia Leveling back and the obvious crashes and glitches).

As a last note here you have, if you dare to check it out, a LINK to the original and very first rushed version of Serpentis Temple. Be warned its quite ugly (I blame Luffaren), but comparing it to V1 (after 7 Beta versions) can be worth some laughs.

 

Comments
  1. Looks awesome, good work!

  2. Anonymous says:

    MAKO !

    Btw nice work on serpentis

  3. Metro says:

    finaly u release it kaemon 😉

  4. Steven Seagal says:

    I have played minigames for over 4 years, and I have to say this is the best map I have ever seen hands down. It is frankly beautiful, and you deserve to be paid, and I will be donating. Thanks.

  5. Kaemon says:

    Emil: Thanks.
    Anonymous: Yeah, its Mako time now. Thanks too.
    Metro: Yup. Too bad I will be needing a v1_1 at some point (some bugs already spotted).
    Steven Seagal: Glad to hear that, thanks.

  6. Dean says:

    Awesome awesome map, i can’t even fathom how many hours of work went into it, what a stunning showcase of talent. Me and my friends have just begun our adventure on it but we have already set up a dedicated server to run this map 24×7. I will be following your work ongoing, hope you decide to continue to leave a legacy for yourself and make some more maps 😉 FYI i would also include in the readme a list of variables to consider for anyone running this map on a dserver and who are newbies, we added mp_ignore_round_win_conditions 1 so the round’s don’t end even if no ones in the server, we added mp_timelimit 99999 to keep the map continuously running and mp_humanteam ct so players are forced to join CT.