Back to making Mako!

Posted: April 3, 2015 by Kaemon in Uncategorized

Okay, first of all I wanted to confirm (for those still in doubt) that the last post was indeed an April’s Fool all the way through.

I can see how it could have been taken seriously on the first lines (me being tired of slacking and even giving up on mapping), but seriously, guys? You didn’t take the hint when I started to talk about how mapping for CS:S and CS:GO was completely different? 😛

Then, just in case and for good measure, I went about naming that not-existing CS:GO defuse map Cosmo Canyon as to avoid copyright issues with Square Enix and to so it doesn’t get related to Final Fantasy VII… Well, apparently most of you never played FFVII nor tried to google it because, as it happens to be, Cosmo Canyon is a quite notable FF7 location 😛

Meteor crashing against Midgar as seen from Cosmo Canyon's top.

Meteor crashing against Midgar (ZE FFVII Mako Reactor’s city) as seen from Cosmo Canyon’s top.

Anyway… Fun is over and work needs to be done. I have right now 10 (9 because I kinda wasted this one already) free days and I will try to get as much of Mako Reactor V6 (for CS:S, don’t worry) done. Let’s see if next week’s post can be about its testing! Wish me luck!

By the way, I didn’t post last weekend because the April’s Fool post was going to come too quick afterwards and to give it sightly more credibility. XD

Comments
  1. FierceG says:

    POPOPOOOOOO

  2. thegregster101 says:

    LOL the fool is real

  3. Anonymous says:

    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͜。 ͡ʖ ͜。) ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  4. Kyoka says:

    I’m so happy ;_; I KNEW IT! ❤

  5. You really need to “improve” your April Fool 😦

    At least is not “Junon is finished” or “Hannibal LMS Contest” (actually, the 2nd one could be real xD).

    Finish mako and give here the link (my sv is waiting…).

  6. Anonymous says:

    Kaemon I hope you will find a way to ip ban russian from Mako v6

    See what they did:
    http://gflclan.com/topic/20358-ze-ffvii-mako-reactor-v6/

    Also they use v6 in the name of their modified versions.

  7. Anonymous says:

    and… they did it only for his russians server

  8. Feedback from that video:

    – Unrealistic bridge (come on, I don’t really see that on FFVII);
    – Sephiroth with default animation?
    – Lots of missing content, because he didn’t use the pakrat;
    – Chinese Extreme 3 was more fun to watch IMO;
    – Since I don’t play CS:S anymore, but I have a CSS Multimod server with ZE included, I hope Kaemon can smash this RUS version (I didn’t see the rest of the map, but I can see its 90% the same).

  9. About the bridge, I said unrealistic because u don’t see flying pieces.

  10. Anonymous says:

    “and… they did it only for his russians server”

    Using an official name is disrespectful for Hannibal (and Kaemon since they say, v6 will never get released).
    And dat quality…

    Korean didnt decompile the map, they modified it with a plugin.

  11. Anonymous says:

    except that they took the official name of the next mako I do not see any problems, because they can easily change it.

  12. CrazyKid says:

    Russian mako just replace a new texture, add a new bgm ,more traps and faster lasers I see. But actiually looks cool even if the dat name and dat decompile

  13. Kaemon says:

    Hallucinogenic Troll: The original intended April’s Fools was to release Mako Reactor V1.3 renamed as Mako V6 and THEN, shortyl after, the real Mako Reactor V6. I just slacked too much and it wasn’t ready…

    Anonymous: Yeah, I was in the server when they were playing and testing it. It has some cool details and curious additions. Didn’t play enough to give an opinion on the gameplay. Added your link on today’s post.

    CrazyKid and some others: Yeah, he could just have used a different nomenclature other than V6, but that doesn’t really worry nor bothers me. Worst case scenario I will name mine V7. Probably I will just name it V6. But yeah… 😛 I found it fun when they thrown at my face (jokingly I assume) that he made it in around 1 week and I was taking 3 years for Mako 😛