Brace yourselves… Maps are comming!

Posted: May 11, 2015 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, News

First of all let me tell you, in case you missed it, that the previous post to this one was Hannibal‘s farewell to ZE mapping. He may come back someday, I guess, but I don’t think that can happen until we are at least working with the HL3 engine.
Hannibal made some of the greatest maps (and I think I may type a whole post in the future dedicated to him) including my two big favorites: Paranoid and Mako Reactor. As with everything, there all kind of tastes and preferences and some people didn’t like his maps and style, but since most people LOVED them and they would come in play (and be extended!) so often, the people hating them got to hate them even more! So I guess he would be both the most loved and hated mapper for ZE Source 😛

As many of you know he also inspired many of the “new generation” mappers that are now, as him, pushing the engine to its limits, and without Hannibal‘s starting the chain reaction we probably wouldn’t have maps like Luffaren‘s Predator Ultimate, Slayerdragon‘s Westersand or Syoduous‘ weird version of Mountain Escape (those 3 are easily in my Top10 favorite ZE maps).
And I’m no exception. I loved some of his maps so much (the previously mentioned Paranoid and Mako Reactor) that I wanted to make my own versions of them (Junon and a Paranoid of my own). Now… I have been known for a while to slack more than I map, and Junon, even if not completely dead, has been stopped for a while; but my Paranoid version could see the light of the day sooner than expected (more info about this on a future post) and I’m now working on fixing Mako Reactor up to a shiny new V6 and so far looks like I will be able to fulfill my release for May… So wait for it!

But I’m not the only busy bee around here… There are many mappers doing maps still for ZE Source!

Luffaren‘s secret project is coming along pretty well and I personally cannot wait for its “early release” (before all stages are complete). I still think he should release as it is (with 6 stages) instead of waiting for the 7th to be done (his current plan).

Then you have guys like Slayerdragon (well known creator of FFXII maps Westersand and Paranima) that is not working on one, not even two, but who knows how many maps at once! I don’t know about all his projects, but he showed me the two most advanced ones: The first one looks quite good… And then the second one looks amazing, is based on a franchise I love and can’t wait for the release!
From what I have been told he has a “Kaemon” of his own, and apparently the delay on him releasing those maps (that are really close to completion) is that his working thrall, Noctali (or whatever nickname he goes by nowadays), is following into my slacking steps. I believe he called me his “Slack Senpai“.

There are many others, but I can’t really keep up with every single mapper.
I also may be forgetting to mention some that I do know about and then are those that I’m not sure if I’m allowed to mention (I always try to ask for permission before mentioning something in the blog and sometimes mappers aren’t online, the slacky bastards!).
But trust me, just the two maps coming from Slayerdragon should be enough to pump you up!

Then of course, you also have the mappers that have completely switched to CS:GO (and I believe at some point most of us will have to) like Enviolinador, still working as hard as ever on new maps (I can’t believe that guy’s mapping rate!). He now has sightly stopped his current ZE project to work on a small side map for a new zombie gamemode that is yet to be released to the public and some IRL stuff, but I can’t wait for his new CS:GO ZE map to be released! It’s looking great and I will probably help him out with one of the areas. Definitely a map worth keeping one eye on.

Comments
  1. Skullz says:

    And i am almost done finishing Harry Potter V1, and than that map should be done and i can start working on these other 4 maps i wanna make so badly lel XD im waiting on Junon and Mako V6 tho!

  2. Kaemon says:

    See? I can’t keep up with all the mappers. Wondering how much HP will change with V1. (Hoping for the dog to do something!)
    Pretty sure Kim and Pass are up to something too, I just don’t know what… Also, I can never remember which one of them is “the Hannibal” and which one is the working thrall. 😛

  3. grinderp says:

    That post gave me a boner, lol. Looking forward to all the new maps and hopefully they will revive CSS ZE, because right now it looks like, that one ZE server after another is dying.;_;

  4. Anonymous says:

    Looking forward for all these new maps.

    @grinderp rip hellz ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) and i3d ( ͜。 ͡ʖ ͜。)

  5. Alpha 001 says:

    It’s glad to see that as one great map maker leaves, many others have stepped forward, taking inspiration from him to create truly great maps.

  6. xionorjenz says:

    you mean may 2017 right? =P

  7. TTsuyuki says:

    Keamon could you maybe tell us what is that franchise you love? (Slayerdragon’s map). I guess it’s not gonna be another Final Fantasy map so what would it be?

  8. TTsuyuki says:

    Ahh i forgot to mention that i really hope it’s gonna be Kingdom Hearts and if not, someone reallyhas to do it! Mappers GO! (not sure if i can, or how to edit posts).

  9. Kaemon says:

    Pretty sure you can’t edit posts. Only admins can. I looked into that, but apparently I needed a plugin to allow everyone to edit their own comments in wordpress so I passed on that.
    And can’t tell what it is (nor even say yes/no to your guesses). That is up to him to reveal I guess, but the 1st Stage was almost completely done and he was working on Stages 2 & 3 (not sure of how many).

  10. Anonymous says:

    Kim and Pass are working on a spinoff of Fapescape for CSGO! Then Kim also has another secret ZE map he is working on for CSGO as well. Great time to be a ZE player!