Back to work! (After 2 months)

Posted: September 12, 2015 by Kaemon in Kaemon's Rants, Sorry for Slacking!, ZE FFVII Mako Reactor

Ey there everyone, it’s a me, Kaemon. I’m still alive, I came back and I’m really sorry for the long hiatus.

When I first announced the date I wanted to release Mako V6 I really meant it and I thought it would be done by then, but I overestimated how much work was still left and how fast I work myself… The problem is that then I took a “break” and I haven’t worked on it for 2 months, going back to mapping as of today.

If you want to know exactly what happened… Well, many small things piled up on top of my usual slackness. My sister (which I don’t see most years) visited, I was working on a quite physically tiring job (and temperatures of 30-40ΒΊ didn’t help), most friends get holidays around these dates (and it’s summer!) so I got some IRL socializing going on, Path of Exile released Act IV (and the fact that my Hardcore Templar refused to die didn’t help to stop playing) and I also experienced that complete lack of interest in CS:S/ZE we all suffer from time to time.
But now I’m done with those things and I’m back to working on Mako V6.

I’m really sorry for having you all waiting this long and I don’t really know how to apologize about it. I just hope you guys like the final product.
Just afraid to inform you that, as mentioned earlier and unlike what some may have thought, I wasn’t working on the map while I was gone. But I’m getting right back into it right now!

Not sure right now when it will be done, but will try to make it relatively fast. We already did a close beta test before I left and worked quite well. Planning on doing a new one after fixing/adding a couple of things this week. Still a close-test as I would prefer that when the map gets exposed to most people is on a more polished and finished status.

See you soon and, again, sorry for the long wait!

Comments
  1. spyro40k says:

    No need to say sorry! We’re lucky to have mappers like you. It’s also always best to do work with a good mindset!

    Anyway, glad to hear you’re back onto things. New maps are always my reason to come back, and mako updates always feel like a new map.

  2. Metro says:

    np Kaemon moltard did Mako for you its okey you slack πŸ˜‰

  3. Anonymous says:

    Dont bother yourself. ZE is dead and no one gives a shit. There are a million better things to waste your time on.

  4. Kaemon says:

    Spyro40K: Glad you think that way πŸ™‚

    Metro: That’s nice. I played some CS:S ZE yesterday and noticed that V5.3 had some fixes done with Ent_Spy, like making the train non-controllable or the crash fix. However V6 is sightly more than just a fix-version.

    Anonymous: There is nothing better to waste your time than whatever you want to waste your time with. And I can perfectly understand you (and many others) not giving a shit anymore, but some still play, and V6 will later be ported to CS:GO, which increases the amount of people it will reach by quite a bit.

  5. As you mentioned, the v6 will be ported to CS:GO. If you need any help with testing, I can help you!
    For CS:S, I still have my multimod server, which they play ZE a lot and want the v6 in the server, I hope you can finish.
    Since you know me, you can add me on steam (sry, hacked some time ago) and proceed the CS:GO tests.

    I hope you finish the CS:S v6 soon Kaemon, my server is counting on you!